Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first time cooking a pork shoulder, and I guess I didn't realize what a fatty cut of meat it is. Mine was 7 lbs, bone in, and I adjusted the ingredients accordingly, omitting the chicken stock and vegetable oil. It took a really long time to cook to the point where it could easily be shredded, probably due to being a bone-in roast. At the end I had to go through and pick out all the fat and try to skim the sauce. The amount of fat truly disgusted me and I had a hard time enjoying the meat because of it. However, it did have a good flavor in the end and my family enjoyed it, so I would make it again, but next time trim off the majority of the fat beforehand. This would be a great pot luck dish with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this meal with the exact recipe using Open Pit (not my first choice but we had an over abundance of it) Before shredding, I took a little bite and thought that it was a bit too tangy and vinegary (and I love vinegar). I also thought the thyme made a bit too much of a presence, but once I added the extra sweeter BBQ sauce, it was unnoticeable. To save this meal, I added some sweeter, thicker BBQ sauce (maybe about a 5-second squirt of it) and some more brown sugar, which probably didn't do much. I let it cook on low for another hour so the shredded pork soaked up the juice and it was delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T and it came out too soggy and had a weird tangy (vinegar) after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
absolutely amazing. my only regret is that its gone now. I did this with a frozen pork loin and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
maybe it was the meat that I used; a 2.5 lb. pork serloin roast, but I didn't care for the sauce either. It tasted sour. I put it all in fridge, no fat rose to the top. The next day I put it on the stove & added a mixture of 2 T. cornstarch to 1 T. apple cider vinegar to thicken it. Also, added a couple sprinkles of cinnamon, couple T. br. sugar, & a little more bottled bbq sauce. Simmered, now its back in the crockpot. Hoping I'm able to save this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The best recipe , my family loves the way it taste . Excellent for the kids . Smell amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this pulled pork recipe for the Super Bowl and everyone 'liked it', however I was not too convinced simply because it left a weird aftertaste in my mouth that I found unpleasant. I personally don't think that good pulled pork needs so many ingredients to taste good; with a few simple ingredients+seasoning and a good quality BBQ sauce you can achieve an amazing tasting pulled pork. This is not a keeper for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Not up to the positives that were posted, but good results. The meat turned out tender and I used a 4 lb butt. VERY important to trim away all external fat. The result still had a lot of grease (typical for a butt) and I decanted the oil before putting the shredded meat back in the pot. The variable in review results could be because of the type of BBQ sauce and I used Krafts regular. I would not use as much vinegar next time because the sauce, mustard and the worcestershire already have a tang, and it overwhelms the dish and your house for six hours. I used the thyme and the cayenne to recipe spec and the taste was just right. Ready to shred in 5 hours after cooking on HIGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was the first time i made pulled pork, and my guests really enjoyed this recipe. Make sure you cook the pork with the fatty side up. After shredding the meat, put it back in the liquud to simmer for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Put this in the crockpot before bed and pork just fell apart in the morning. Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Perfect for lunch on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States