Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I didn't want to run a huge slow cooker for a small amount of meat. For me, one pound of of chicken was two chicken breasts. I didn't bother cutting it into strips, I just cut each of the breasts in half and laid them in my smaller "dipper" crockpot over the frozen corn, sprinkled the (homemade) taco seasoning/flour mix over the top and poured the (organic) salsa over. I let that go all day until dinner, then lifted the chicken out and shredded it with two forks, then mixed it back with the sauce.. I sauteed the peppers (I didn't cook them with the meat as I didn't want them to be limp) with some onion and fresh garlic. When I made the wraps, I layered the onion/garlic/peppers on the tortilla, then spooned some of the chicken/salsa/corn mix over it, then sprinkled it with cheese. Surprizingly good. We all loved it, especially me because I didn't have to make a big production over dinner OR drag out the ginormous crockpot and it was an easy way to make fajitas. In a roundabout way, I guess. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Makes a big batch, and you can vary the flavor a little based on what kind of salsa you use. I use half of a bag of frozen "stir fry" mix (onions, red and green peppers) to save time, too. We eat it over brown rice and leave off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was amazing and so full of flavor! I cooked it on high for 4 hours and added the bell peppers during the last hour. Everything came out perfect! It made a large batch, but there weren't any leftovers because we couldnt get enough! DEFINITELY making this again...SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesome! I used all the ingredients listed but I was w/out my slow cooker (that usually never leaves my counter!) so I baked this in the oven. Here's how it went down: 1. I used 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (left them whole). 2. Mixed the flour, taco seasoning and corn together in a bowl along with the salsa. 3. I arranged the chicken and the sliced peppers in a lightly sprayed baking dish. 4. I poured/spread the salsa mixture over everything. 5. Baked it at 375 for 1 hour. 6. I added the mexican blend of cheese (just over the chicken breasts) with 20 minutes left on the timer. DELICIOUS. Everyone cleaned their plates! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnastasiaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight and it was a hit! Left out the corn. Substituted an orange pepper instead of green. Served over white rice with sharp cheddar cheese. Fresh cilantro on top. Fabulous...can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Oh my, I have to give this 5 stars. This was an awesome dish. I added an onion in and it all turned out deli-sh. I served over white rice. I will defiantly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Incredibly simply to make (especially if you use the stir fried pepper mix as a previous reviewer suggested). Very tasty to eat. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
made this and it was delicious and so easy to make! Really good! Topped it off with a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was a very pleasant surprise. I don't typically care for chicken done in the crock pot-but this recipe is a keeper! I have made it twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I was in a hurry, so I did threw the chicken in whole and skipped the peppers. I added a can of black beans instead. It was delicious both ways. I will definitely add the black beans again next time! Served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
simple and delicious can't wait for more !!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States