Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
What a great recipe - The meat fell apart it was so tender and the gravy was delicious. I doubled the recipe for mushroom soup - 2 cans and 1 cup water (Not onion soup mix)and added a stalk of chopped celery and sliced fresh mushrooms.Also instead of water you can add 1 can of LOW Sodium beef broth. Cooked it on high for 5 hours, adding the carrots(small bag of baby carrots) and potatoes for the last 2 hours. I made fresh bread to suck up the gravy. YUMMY!!!.Thank you for sharing this recipe Katy. I just want to add that I smushed my potatoes before taking the photo - I was so hungry from the smell I almost forgot to take the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I have made a basic recipe of beef, onion soup mix, and cream of mushroom soup for years. NEVER THOUGHT of adding the potatoes and carrots......THIS BROUGHT THE DISH TO LIFE!!!! A small suggestion for those that prefer a more "beefy" version of the gravy is to add a package of beef gravy along with a cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
Excellent flavor! I prepared it the night before, refrogerated it in the crockpot and turned in on before going to work. It was ready when I got home! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Really Good!! I browned the meat first and deglazed the pan with 1C water. I added that water to the soup mixes, cut the onion into quarters and I could have added more of them (but I had read that others thought the onion flavor was too much) I also added and a few stalks of celery cooked it on high for 6 hrs and it was perfectly done. I will make this again the family loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
The potatoes got mushy from being in the slow cooker all day and it turned into more of a stew. I think next time I'll add the veggies later on. But the steaks were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was really good!! It only needs a small amount of water, maybe 1/4 cup, to keep the gravy from being too watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
followed reciped (except cut meat into strips and used baby carrots). My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I browned the meat first and added some spices for flavor...however, after cooking on low for 8 hours it still came out pretty tasteless and the meat was tough. Also, the potatoes were still hard after the 8 hours. I don't know what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I did not like this at all. For some reason this was quite bland. My husband liked it though. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This was a very easy recipe. It turned out great- made a nice gravy to go with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States