Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The flavor of this dish was okay, but definitely add the vegs in the last 2-3 hours of cooking. I followed the recipe (but browned the meat first) and the veggies turned into a mushy mess at the bottom of the slow cooker. I think my slow cooker was also a little too big- the liquid didn't cover the meat and I think that made it a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCELL81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Tender Yes It had that salty taste that cheap steak has! We wont make this again. The house did smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Recipe is very easy but lacks flavor. I've had better. Edible in a pinch but I'll keep searching for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very tasty AND easy to make. Used some ragout cubed beef and cooked for 8 hrs... it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Been making this for years. Started using a rump roast and discovered it can be used with about any beef. When I use round steak I call it Smothered Steak. Instead of water I use 7Up, Sprite, Tonic, Club Soda or even beer. The carbonation will tenderize the meat even more. I add fresh mushrooms about 2 hrs before cooking is complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrdreamchaser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent flavor. I left out the water so the gravy would be thicker. Let it cook a full ten hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I thought I followed the receipe, but our meat was not tender. The flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have been making this for years and about 10-15 minutes before serving I take the potatoes, carrots and onionsout of the slow cooker and put them under the broiler to brown them. Stir frequently so they don't burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We cut up round steak and add to the crock pot. Mix 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 soup can milk and homemade onion soup mix (from this site). Pour over un-cooked meat and cook on low for the entire time we are at work. I steam the potatoes and carrots separately so they are not mushy. Mix and enjoy. The gravy is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the recipe I used in 1967 when I was first learning to cook. If you don't have a slow cooker, do like we did, wrap everything in foil and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States