Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I've made this several times using round and sirloin steak and it's always been good, although I always double the soup/gravy. The last time I made it with a good USDA Choice chuck roast and it was much better as the meat was super tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Easy to make. Kids liked them. Mine came out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made a few of my own adjustments, but overall this recipe was a good start :) I added one can of beef broth to the soup mixture, and about 1/2 cup of red wine. Also, I rubbed chopped garlic cloves and olive oil all over the meat before searing and sprinkled with basil and black pepper. I used about 1/2 bag of baby carrots, 6 small potatoes, and a sweet onion.. it came out great! I only had about 1 lb of round steak so it only took about 3.5 hours on high and it was good to go. Next time I will get a larger cut of meat and let it simmer all day, then add the veggies in later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe came out a little too bland. I think next time I will brown the meat with a little bit of onion salt. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was soooo good! I seasoned my meat the night before and left it in the refridgerator. I like a thicker sauce so the next day (one hour before the meal was finished) I added some cornstarch to water and poured it in my crockpot. It made a nice gravy. I will definately be making this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was a hit with my entire family! The meat was so very tender. The best recipe so far!! Will have again and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe is ok. I would have prefered a thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great recipe! The EASIEST slow cooker recipe ever and can easily be modiifed based on what you have in your fridge or cupboard. I stuck to the recipe, but next time will add additional veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I listened to some of the other reviews about it being bland. With that in mind, I added some seasoning to the steak and used roasted garlic cream of mushroom instead of the plain cream of mushroom soup. I am not crazy over onions although I like the flavor so I left out the onion and just added the onion soup mix. I also used baby carrots and left a little skin on the potatoes. The steak turned out wonderful! It was not bland at all! Thanks for sharing this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I make something very similar to this but with a few changes. I don't add an onion to this because you are already getting the flavor from the dry soup mix. I also use beef broth instead of mushroom soup and water (taste preference). Adding some worcestershire sause into the mix helps with the flavoring, and I like to add frozen peas at the end, that way they don't get too mushy. This is a great dish that can be made without a special trip to the grocery store using stuff you are more than likely to have at home already and is very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States