Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I don't whether the meat I used was sub-par, but it was definitely not tender and easy to chew. Will probably try this again because the taste was good, but if it doesn't work out, this recipe will be relegated to the back burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Excellent! I too added some chopped celery (I had some that needed using up)and Beef Onion Soup mix. Added 1/4 t ground black pepper and WOW it was so yummy after about 8 hours. As one reviewer noted the gravy was watery, so I thickened at the end with flour - about an hour before done. I want to point out that almost every crock pot recipe on here has someone stating it didn't get cooked in the time given. Not all crock pots are created equal, and high altitude (where I cook) makes the time somewhat longer. I compensate for it by setting it on high for the first hour and then turn down. I can do this while getting ready for work, then turn down when I leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. It wasn't too salty and the vegetable were not overcooked as others mentioned. I cooked on low for 8 hours. My family really liked it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was so-so. Neither my hubs or I were all that impressed (sorry!). I prefer Brenda Arnold's slow cooker pot roast by FAR. It's SO much easier to make gravy when you don't have to pick thru a slow cooker full of veggies. Don't get me wrong. I love a good pot roast with slow cooked veggies, but if given a choice, I like to serve mine on the side. As is, this recipe produces a VERY watered down gravy (ick!). I gave up trying to strain it to make gravy on the stovetop and instead, added 1 T cornstarch dissolved in a T of cold water to thicken. This helped somewhat, but our gravy was still quite runny. My final gripe (my hubs also agrees) is that this was terribly bland for our tastes. We like LOTS of flavor and this just didn't meet our expectations. Maybe this will work for you, but it did nothing for us. Thanks anyways, Katy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Loved it! I was debating whether I should brown the meat first, but I didn't and it turned out very tender! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
When your husband comes and tells you he finished off the rest, it's a wonderful feeling. We loved the recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
it was good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbieann74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe does wonders to inexpensive cuts of meat such beef round bottom round steaks (got mine from Sams club). I did run about 1.5 hours short on time so here is what I did. I placed baby carrots & yellow onions on bottom, cut steaks into 4in by 4in pieces and layered on top of veggies. Used beef broth, soup mix & mushroom soup on top and set on high for 1.5 hours then changed to low setting for another 5 hours. Added sliced raw mushrooms in last 40 minutes. My carrot did not turn out mushy as others said. Steak, to my surprise, was tender enough to shred by fork and had great flavor! Even my 3 year old loved it and he doesn't eat much meat. I served with mashed potatoes & french bread yummy! Also, you can make thicker gravy out of the crock pot sauce.. was overall VERY good dish for not a lot of work or money =) I'm writing this review as I'm eating the leftovers for lunch the next day, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States