Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The taste on this recipe is fantastic, but despite 7 hours in the slow cooker, the meat was still a little tough. I expected this to tenderize the meat more than it did, so I didn't do anything to tenderize the meat beforehand. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I will just prepare the meat a little more beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was good comfort food but fell a little flat. I added some Worcestershire and my son was still looking for something to give it more flavor. Next time, I might try adding some wine and/or some more herbs. It seemed much like stew and I like to add a bay leaf or two to stew so maybe I was missing that. The meat was very tender and I like to use red potatoes as they don't get mushy in the crock pot. I never think baby carrots give as much flavor as whole carrots that have been cut. Overall good, but not a knock out dish and that is what I collect for my keeper recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is an excellent and simple recipe, and I've done something very similar with all roasts that I make. The only difference in my recipe is that I use a 3.5 to 4 pound boneless chuck roast and I substitute a can of beef broth for the cream of mushroom soup because of a food allergy. It's also a good idea to add a couple of tablespoons of worcestershire sauce for added flavor. If you substitute the beef broth for cream of mushroom soup, you'll need to add about a tablespoon of corn starch at the end of cooking to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very tender meat and delicious gravy. I cooked oh HIGH on my crock pot. It did cook 7 hrs and made the meat fall apart. It did not burn but next time I would add more liguid so I would have more of that delish gravy. This is the first time Ivfound a crock pot dinner not stewing in water! Thanks for the recipe! Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was a 5 star right when DH took it out of the slow cooker, but after warming up a couple of times, the meat becomes kind of dry and tough. That is the only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5. But a family of four would be able to eat the whole thing in one sitting...well worth making! The only thing I changed was..I only added two chopped up carrots. Otherwise make it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Delish - the whole family loved it. I do add lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe a lot. The meat was very favorful and soft. The juice came out to be very watery. Maybe adding some corn starch to thicken up the juice before serving next time. Will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I usually cook round steak in a mixture of Cream of Mushroom & Cream of Onion soups, which creates a nice, creamy gravy. This recipe creates a clear, but still rich, gravy, and the potatoes and carrots cook up with a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was really good and the meat was so tender. I added a can of mushrooms just because I like them. Be sure to use low sodium soup or it will turn out salty. Next time I will add the carrots and potatoes half way through cooking time because they were too mushy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
YUM,YUM,YUM Very tasty to come home from church too. I used cubed steak instead of round,also I didn't add any onion & thickened the gravy with corn starch. It was DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States