Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYLOUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Too me there was NO flavor at all. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was so great and easy to cook. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Made it according to the recipe. I wonder if results vary with the brand name of the onion soup mix? Mine wasn't salty enough (and we are no-added-salt people). I slow-cooked it on low for 8 hours but the meat wasn't as tender as it might have been. The "gravy" was thin:, not bad but less water or some flour to thicken it might have helped. Lastly, the color turns out pretty bland. I served with sliced peppers, green, red and yellow, that improved the presentation. My wife loved it. Should recipes that depend on pre-made ingredients (like the onion soup mix) include brand names?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The first time I made this exactly as written and it was just a little bland - but GOOD, don't get me wrong. The second time I used GOLDEN MUSHROOM soup instead of Cream of Mushroom and it really kicked it up a notch. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
this is a good easy to bang out recipe, for all the hunters , this is good for bear or venison as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have used london broil in place of the round steak before and always season with garlic salt and pepper before browning the meat. I like to use golden mushroom soup in place of the white mushroom soup. This is a very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I've made this recipe for 20 yrs +/-. I don't put in onion with the onion soup mix. Use 2 or 3 beef boullion cubes for added flavor. No crockpot; just put in a dutch oven in the oven & cook 3- 4 hrs @ 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The only thing I do different is substitute the potatoes with celery, only because I do not like the way potatoes cook in a crockpot. Otherwise this is a very good crockpot meal. The meat is nice and tender, not to mention the heavenly aroma. I serve mine with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
this would be a 5 star but for one error on recipe. Don't put potatoes and carrots in until the last 3-4 hours. I use the dry beefy onion soup mix when I make this. If I don't have that, I use regular dry onion with beef broth instead of water. I sear the beef before starting in a bit of garlic oil. Not required but keeps the beef flavor full. I also put a dash of worchestershire sauce in. This also works with a pot roast (chuck). Just add an extra can of mushroom soup. If you like your vegetables a bit more al dente, steam them to desired and ad to pot and serve. If you like wine in your sauces then use red like merlot instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States