Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I doubled the recipe. I added about 1 tsp vanilla. I tempered (thank you for the advice!) the eggs about an hour before it should have been finished. It actually finished early! I think it is my slow cooker/rice cooker, it may run hot. Regardless, my kids loved it! I thought it was way too sweet. If I use this recipe again, I will definitely cut the sugar back a bit! Other than that, it was really easy and pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I bought a bag of tapioca at a Asian market but I don't know what size it is. Small, large??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
After reading ALL the reviews, I have successfully tried making this 2 times. Here is how I did it twice with great results BOTH times. 4C Milk(used 1%) 1/2 C Sugar Put in blender for 4 sec. Added 2 eggs and Pinch of salt. Again blended 4 secs. Pour into my Old Rival Crock pot. Stir in 1/2 C small pearl tapioca(bought at Amish store here). Put on lid,turn on High. Every 15min, I gave it a quick wisk, hitting the sides and bottom. This was done in 2 hrs. Add 1 tsp Vanilla pour in serving dishes, chill. Second time I got interrupted after an hour, put temp down to low the second hour, still made sure I gave it a quick wisk every 20 min. It was still done in 2hrs!!. I feel you still have to stir this often to make it come out right. You are just not standing over it like when on the stove. Passing this along to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Quick, easy, and a crowd pleaser!!!! I added 1 tsp of vanilla, and a pinch of salt. But great flavor, you MUST use small pearl tapioca tho, no substitutions there!!!! :-) ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I tried this for my Sunday School Class of 4 and 5 year olds. My cooker may be a little different as it took almost an hour longer cook time on low. It was super easy and tasted wonderful! We served it warm with a chocolate drizzle and whip cream. The kids were happy, the other teachers were asking for the recipe. Highly recommended for lazy or time restrained cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Add 1 tsp. vanilla! Tried this using the Minute Tapioca and it still turned out delicious. I added a teaspoon vanilla after turning off the heat. Couldn't imagine it without it! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have some good tips ! If you want to make chocolate tapioca pudding; add 1/4 cup cocoa powder to this recipe. I always mix the eggs first, add the milk & sugar ( add cocoa ) . Big tip, Cook on low, but stir every half hour. Set a timer if you need to. It may not take 3 hours either. Mine's usually done in a little over 2 hours. I don't let it get super thick because as it cools it will thicken further. I make this often and we love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I went right by the recipe. I even used an immersion blender to make sure the egg was mixed in well. The "pudding" stuck to the sides and turned brown. It smelt like burnt eggs. That's what was cooking on the sides. The flavor tastes like over cooked eggs also, nothing like tapioca. I will never try this one again. I'll use the old fashioned way of cooking it on the stove-top. It was quite the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I do not usually comment on recipes but I absolutely had to for this one. I have recently become obsessed with tapioca pudding and I have always been obsessed with my slow cooker. I tried both Minute Tapioca using the recipe on the box (came out watery) and then switched to trying Bob's Red Mill small pearl tapioca (recipe given on that bag was very laborious and not worth the effort - also came out watery). I was wondering how to get the thick, creamy tapioca pudding I saw everywhere! Finally I decided to see if I could make it in the slow cooker, which brings me to this recipe. It is PERFECT!!!!!! Here is exactly how I did this recipe which resulted in perfection: 3.5 cups of almond milk, .5 cup of heavy cream, .5 cup of sugar plus 2 packets of stevia, 1/2 cup Bob's Red Mill small pearl tapioca, 2 eggs, 1tsp vanilla. I dumped the sugar/stevia and tapioca into the crock pot. In a bowl I beat the eggs for about a minute and then added the liquids in and whisked those together for 30 seconds. I then add the liquid mixture to the crock pot and whisked that all together for about a minute. I then put on high and gave it a stir, scraping down the sides every 30 minutes. 2 hours in it had thickened up substantially and before 2.5 hours had passed it was incredibly thick and creamy. I then added the vanilla, stirred, and put in the fridge to cool overnight. I am now eating it for breakfast and I can't imagine how it could be more perfect. I will never ever use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
While this is an easy recipe, it can also be tricky. First, I think it is essential to add some flavoring to this dish. I add a teaspoon of Mexican vanilla extract during the last half hour of cooking. Also, for those having trouble with the egg part of this dish, tempering is the answer. One hour before your pudding is done, whisk your eggs in a medium bowl, then slowly add a bit of the hot tapioca mixture to the eggs, stirring constantly. Go SLOW. Keep stirring and adding more of the hot mixture to the eggs until they are quite warm, then add to the crock pot and stir thoroughly. Stir again 30 minutes later (and add the vanilla extract). Cook another 30 minutes or so, and voila - delicious tapioca pudding, perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States