Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I was looking for a tapioca recipe and came across this one. It's SUPER easy, absolutely delicious and definitely a keeper. I add 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract at the end. I also use at least double the tapioca as I love it. This recipe works really well with the regular pearl tapioca. When it cooks it appears as though the tapioca will remain hard, but it doesn't. It softens up a lot in the last 1/2 hour or so. Love this recipe, thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This recipe is a real keeper. I buy the large pearl tapioca. This is about as wholesome as a pudding can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I doubled the recipe. I added about 1 tsp vanilla. I tempered (thank you for the advice!) the eggs about an hour before it should have been finished. It actually finished early! I think it is my slow cooker/rice cooker, it may run hot. Regardless, my kids loved it! I thought it was way too sweet. If I use this recipe again, I will definitely cut the sugar back a bit! Other than that, it was really easy and pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I bought a bag of tapioca at a Asian market but I don't know what size it is. Small, large??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
After reading ALL the reviews, I have successfully tried making this 2 times. Here is how I did it twice with great results BOTH times. 4C Milk(used 1%) 1/2 C Sugar Put in blender for 4 sec. Added 2 eggs and Pinch of salt. Again blended 4 secs. Pour into my Old Rival Crock pot. Stir in 1/2 C small pearl tapioca(bought at Amish store here). Put on lid,turn on High. Every 15min, I gave it a quick wisk, hitting the sides and bottom. This was done in 2 hrs. Add 1 tsp Vanilla pour in serving dishes, chill. Second time I got interrupted after an hour, put temp down to low the second hour, still made sure I gave it a quick wisk every 20 min. It was still done in 2hrs!!. I feel you still have to stir this often to make it come out right. You are just not standing over it like when on the stove. Passing this along to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Quick, easy, and a crowd pleaser!!!! I added 1 tsp of vanilla, and a pinch of salt. But great flavor, you MUST use small pearl tapioca tho, no substitutions there!!!! :-) ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I tried this for my Sunday School Class of 4 and 5 year olds. My cooker may be a little different as it took almost an hour longer cook time on low. It was super easy and tasted wonderful! We served it warm with a chocolate drizzle and whip cream. The kids were happy, the other teachers were asking for the recipe. Highly recommended for lazy or time restrained cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Add 1 tsp. vanilla! Tried this using the Minute Tapioca and it still turned out delicious. I added a teaspoon vanilla after turning off the heat. Couldn't imagine it without it! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have some good tips ! If you want to make chocolate tapioca pudding; add 1/4 cup cocoa powder to this recipe. I always mix the eggs first, add the milk & sugar ( add cocoa ) . Big tip, Cook on low, but stir every half hour. Set a timer if you need to. It may not take 3 hours either. Mine's usually done in a little over 2 hours. I don't let it get super thick because as it cools it will thicken further. I make this often and we love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I went right by the recipe. I even used an immersion blender to make sure the egg was mixed in well. The "pudding" stuck to the sides and turned brown. It smelt like burnt eggs. That's what was cooking on the sides. The flavor tastes like over cooked eggs also, nothing like tapioca. I will never try this one again. I'll use the old fashioned way of cooking it on the stove-top. It was quite the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States