Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Too much liquid. I am going to try a little more tapioca (3/4 c) and sugar (1c) or less milk (3 1/2). It was done at 3hrs on low in my slow cooker. Over all I liked it I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My family loves tapioca so I was excited to see a recipe that can be done in the slow cooker. I made it the other day and it was really nice. I did add a tsp. of pure vanilla essence. What I want to comment on is that the eggs did curdle a bit. So next time I make it I will add the eggs during the last hour of cooking. Otherwise, a very good recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This did not work for me AT ALL. I doubled the recipe (because I love tapioca) and even soaked the pearls overnight. It has taken forever to cook and is completely curdled. I won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I'm giving this five stars (for the end result), even though I totally abandoned the crockpot method. There's NO NEED! It was done after less than a half hour (of, yes, constant stirring) on the stove top . I used large-pearl tapioca, which I soaked overnight in half the milk. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I added salt (one teaspoon in a doubled recipe) and vanilla (two teaspoons). Good stuff ... and without the delay of slow-cooking (which requires some attention anyway, so can't be unattended...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was pretty good, but I find it easier to make in a pot on the stove rather than the slow cooker. I found I had to stir it just as much, and it really stuck to the sides alot. A few changes I made that worked great: I made it with Almond Milk and added 1tsp of vanilla. I mixed the eggs up really well before adding them. I would recommend trying the almond milk again, but I would add less sugar next time. It was quite sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Perfect! With the addition of vanilla at the end and with stirring many times, this is my new go to tapioca recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Let me start by saying this recipe is as easy as it gets and I love that! I so wanted to love this recipe too with all the rave reviews it's gotten. However I just didn't. Don't get me wrong it's not bad at all. For me the consistency was just off. I feel like it tasted and felt a bit eggy. I realize that probably sounds weird but that's the best way I can describe it. It just had a texture that didn't seem quite right to me. However with the addition of some vanilla and salt like other reviewers suggested the pudding came pretty close to taking care of my craving for tapioca. I think maybe it's just been so long since I've had homemade that maybe I've just forgotten how the taste and texture really should be? So all in all this is a keeper. I will try to make it again and see if I have the same issues with the texture the next time. Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very disappointing! This was a total waste of a quart of milk! I literally gagged when I tasted it. The texture was disgusting. I had it on low and stirred occasionally as the directions said. Perhaps, I was supposed to use whole milk instead of 2%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe! The first time I made it, I saved the milk I soaked the pearls in and measured that into my milk requirements. BIG MISTAKE. It came out very starchy. This time I did it right and it was wonderful. I ALSO USED XYLITOL as my sweetener. It has a glycemic index of 8, so good for diabetics. It also build your bones and helps your strengthen your gums. Check it out on www.mercola.com. I got it at a health food store. I did add the salt and vanilla as mentioned by previous users. Thank all of you for writing. I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Well it is grainy, not smooth like I like it, I added vanilla. tastes ok but is just not the same as homeade. I would have rather spent the time to make some really good tapioca. Back to the old way for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States