Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this twice. I set a timer for 10 minutes and stirred the pudding, each time setting the timer for another 10 minutes. As the pudding started to get thicker this became more important because the pudding would settle at the bottom. The first time I didn't soak the tapioca and about 1/3 of the tapioca had gritty centers. The second time I soaked the tapioca in milk for about an hour and the tapioca pearls were all cooked. Both times the pudding was thick and had a delicious flavor. Following the recommendation of other reviewers I added 1/2 cup sugar the second time and it was just as good as 2/3 cup sugar. However, I won't be making this again because the texture of the pudding was mushy. Whether I soaked the tapioca or not, both times the tapioca pearls were not firm balls like they are when I make this on the stove, instead they fell apart at the slightest touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I love tapioca pudding, but this recipe does NOT work. The ratios are wrong- it needs more tapioca to cook up properly, and isn't sweet enough. Waste of ingredients! Best to just stick with time-honored recipes of letting the small pearl tapioca sit overnight- or using the Minute Tapioca. Don't change a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This wasn't bad, but I didn't enjoy any more than the store bought I usually get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I was looking forward to this pudding and added some salt and cinnamon like others had suggested and the recipe is delightfully easy. HOWEVER, this doesn't taste like tapioca pudding. It taste just like RICE PUDDING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this and it turned out horrible. The eggs separated from the rest and cooked/coagulated and floated around in the tapioca soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Five stars, with the addition of some vanilla and salt at the end. I also left the eggs out until about halfway through the cooking process, then tempered them before adding. Frequent stirring is a must. My husband requests this often, and we eat it right out of the crockpot. Who can wait for it to cool?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
very easy... used minute tapioca as that is what I had on hand...at the higher temp. setting... it was done much sooner and although I did remember to stir periodically, it got ahead of me and started to set...I had to use whisk to smooth lumps out but it worked fine...will try larger tapioca next time... but if using minute just do on low heat as it will be done in a couple of hours without using the higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Mine turned out thicker than I like it. I ate it cooled. I might have preferred it warm. I would try this recipe again, but switch the heat from high to low sooner than I did (there was no medium setting on my cooker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Best tapioca I have ever made! I am so excited, it is smooth, creamy and delicious. BUT you need to pay attention to your slow cooker since apparently they are all a little different. On my first attempt I did 6 hours on low and it was overcooked, clumpy and tasted eggy (but still kind of good). This time I stirred it every half hour and kept a close eye on it after 3 hours and mine was done in 4 1/2 hours- perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Took 12 minutes in the pressure cooker...after soaking pearls overnight. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States