Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The best way to make the "custard" in this work is to temper the egg into the mix with about 1 hour remaining to cook. Take your two eggs and beat them in a separate bowl - SLOWLY add some of the hot liquid from the crock pot while stirring. When the egg has slowly been brought up to the temp of the crockpot, you can add the hot egg mix to the crock while stirring. This will make the custard perfect! I also added some vanilla to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice easy recipe but double the tapioca and add some flavoring like vanilla, coconut, or rum. I added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes. I reduced the sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I prepared a double batch of this pudding and it was pretty good. When it was warm, the texture was like scrambled eggs. I believe that adding the eggs later in the process and also tempering them will make it better next time. When it was cold, it hardened so that you could cut it with a knife and serve it by the slab. However, it no longer had a scrambled eggs texture. I added some vanilla at the end which was nice. The flavor is good overall, but I would also use less sugar next time. The tapioca pearls don't stand out from the pudding and the pudding isn't creamy in texture. These are the two main reasons I like tapioca pudding. Regardless, I would try it again with the suggestions mentioned above. Some reviewers indicated that they would rather just make it the old fashioned way standing over the stove for 30 minutes. If I want it to be perfect, I would also do this. However, I was cooking up a week's worth of meals this evening and the ease of simply checking on the pudding for a few seconds every half hour made it possible for me to make it in the first place. Although it requires this periodic babysitting, it's better than strictly spending 30 minutes on pudding alone. It's a pretty good recipe overall if you just want pudding and aren't terribly picky. I do believe that with the proper modifications it could be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Amazing and such an easy way to cook tapioca! I like less sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I do not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This tastes yummy! But when I made it, we stirred it every half hour, which turned out to be too much. Overall though, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. It ended up with a grainy texture and tasted vaguely of scrambled eggs. Perhaps that is because my slow cooker only has high and low, and I used high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wonderful, best served warm with whipped cream. No changes except a little vanilla and salt. Thank you for this recipe, it was a joy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Excellent tapioca pudding. I doubled the recipe, sweetening the pudding with half splenda and half sugar, and stirred in a tablespoon of vanilla when it finished cooking. My slow cooker has only low and high settings and since I did not want to spend all day, I cooked it on high, stirring every 1/2 hour. In 2 1/2 hours it was done. In fact, I think I could have cooked for just 2 1/4 hours. We finished it last night and my husband said it got even better after a couple of days in the fridge. (serve with whipped cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great pudding! Served hot it was thick and creamy. doubled the vanilla and served with fresh grated nutmeg. Yum! Great cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States