Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Quick & easy & turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Flavour was good but mine curdled :o( I really wanted this to work because I really like tapioca pudding. It may not have worked because I used up some egg yolks instead of using whole eggs. I will try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Wow, this recipe is brilliant. I was amazed at how easy and delicious it is. I will never make tapioca another way. Why bother when this tastes as good (or better) than the stovetop version? I was hesitant to make it thinking I would very likely be wasting eggs and milk (costly in this economic environment), but it turned out better than I imagined. I added a pinch of salt and a dash of amaretto to replace the vanilla other reviewers said they added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I looked this up because the country I'm in doesn't have minute tapioca in a box. This was perfect! No changes, except that I added a tsp. of vanilla. Just a few notes: a) You must use small pearl; b) if you want to cut cooking time, soak the pearls in 1 cup of the milk overnight; c) if you don't have a slow cooker, it's perfectly OK as it cooks in regular pot in 30 minutes over medium to med-high heat. Sets beautifully, tastes wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I make a double-batch of this at least once every month, and everyone in my family (7 of us) loves it. My 92 yr old Grandma even complimented it while she was here. Unlike the other reviewers, I actually prefer the large pearl tapioca vs the smaller ones. I like mine to be rich and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
make sure to use small pearl tapioca. all i could find was large pearl, the consistency was too thick. great taste and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of tapioca, but my father-in-law is, and he's never happy with tapioca you can buy prepared. I gave this recipe a shot, becasue it seemed so easy, and not only was it easy, but he loved it. For newbie tapioca makers, be careful to turn off the crockpot when you think the pudding is almost done - if you don't, it'll be overcooked just enough to bother you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I added a pinch of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla. This tasted great when it was hot, but once it cooled, my tapioca was too aggressive! It really set up as one large mass. Next time I'll add 4 1/2 or 5 cups of milk. I guess my tapioca pearls were just really absorbant! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love the old pearl tapioca that my grandmother made and nothing ould be easier or faster than this. I will use nothing but this recipe forever more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I will give this 5 stars.I soaked the tapioca pearls over night in the milk. Next morning I added the sugar and eggs. Because I soaked the tapioca it did not need to cook as long. I cooked on high for 1 hour stirring every 20 to 30 minutes to make sure the egg was well blended. Then I turned it down to low and cooked the rest of the way until thick and creamy. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract at the end when the tapioca was done. Put it in serving bowls sprinkled a little nutmeg and we were ready to go. Super easy recipes. A keeper and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States