Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe as stated and I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla at the end. Also if you use a Slow Cooker that has only 2 temperatures like mine which is a 1 1/2 quart Crockpot, if you cook it at a HIGH temperature it only takes 2 Hours. You need to start stirring it more readily after the first hour so it doesn't stick. I started after the first 1/2 hr. and then after an hour it was starting to stick and I had even coated the crockpot with pan spray. I loved the part that I didn't have to continously stir it though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
easy, fast, taste good, will use a little less sugar next time around....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Outstandingly simple and delicious- I added Vanilla as suggested by other reviewers and topped with Nutmeg-Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome, awesome, awesome :) It was so super tasty, especially while still warm. I followed the recipe exact but also added one and a half teaspoons of real vanilla extract. I cooked on low for a total of about five hours, stirring about every 45 minutes so it wouldn't clump up. I'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was awesome and extremely easy to make in the slow cooker. I doubled the recipe and used large pearl tapioca which I did not soak overnight. Followed the directions to a tee. We used 2% milk (we call it whitewash) and added 3 tsp. of vanilla extract (double batch). I cooked it on low and it was finished in about 3 1/2 hours. The one thing everyone should know is, it has to be stirred every half hour. Make sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the slow cooker otherwise it sticks. We liked it a lot and will be making it again and again. ADDENDUM: I made this again and used 1% milk. Had to cook a little longer but was just as good. Also, used the large pearl tapioca again. Don't forget to scrape sides and bottom every half hour so it doesn't stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
very good and quite easy. I took others suggestions and added vanilla and salt. Tasted great but the texture was not quite the same as a cooked pudding, however it was much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I really didn't care for this. It was too mushy. I was really hoping it would be better, because of the ease of making it. Back to the old way for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I had large pearl tapioca, but if worked perfectly with pre-soaking them in one of the cups of milk overnight. The flavour was a tad too eggy for my taste, and the pudding was a bit thicker than I like it, but those are things I can adjust in future. Other than that, thanks a bunch for the awesome idea, it works quite well in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
If my hubby were going on a trip with no availability of food except for one thing he could choose and take with him, it would be tapioca pudding AND, it would be THIS recipe! I cut it down to 4 servings for the two of us and it seems the 3 servings were just right for the tapioca piglet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Incredible! I'm not a tapioca expert; in fact I've made it only twice (once using the recipe on the back of the tapioca bag, and once using this one). This is SO easy and SO delicious! Much better than the first recipe I tried. Since the recipe doesn't specify what kind of milk to use, I assumed whole (which I did not have on hand) so I substituted 3 cups skim and 1 cup 1/2 'n 1/2. I put it into a small crock pot (which was filled to the top with this recipe) and cooked it on high for 2 hours and decided it was almost done. I turned it off after 2 1/2 hours and tasted. OMG! I then added 1 tsp of vanilla. I have to say both versions tasted amazing - with and without the vanilla. I found that it needed to be stirred more often than every 30 minutes as the cooking time neared the end - more like every 10-15 minutes. Also, I made sure the eggs were well beaten, added the sugar and mixed well, then added the milk and mixed well again before adding the tapioca. Mixing with a whisk all the way thru the cooking seemed to be the best way (to me) to keep the tapioca pearls incorporated evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States