Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great template. You can add almost any ingredients you'd like to suit your taste. We added corn, tomatoes, diced chilies and olives. We also prefer a homemade cornbread topping, therefore we did not use the boxed option. It really doesn't take much more time to make it homemade. Thanks for this recipe. We loved it and will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
very good. I used chili beans and spices in the meat. Cooked about 3 hours on low in the show cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did modify a bit, as others have. Sauteed onion, red bell pepper and half a fresh jalapeno pepper until translucent. Added beef to pot and browned. Added several shakes of Mrs. Dash Spicy. When browned, put beef mixture in crock pot, added a can of medium spicy enchilada sauce and one small can tomato paste. Also added half a bag of frozen corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I used 2 boxes of Jiff cornbread mix, 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk mixed, then added 1 cup cheddar cheese. I poured that on top of the beef already in the crock pot and put it on low for 4 hours. When it was done, I topped it with more cheddar cheese and more black olives and then put it under the broiler just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lagueux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My husband loves this recipe as well. I add a half to a full can of rotel to it for extra flavor and some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Nothing to making this, great. Have also made this in oven and added blk olives and crime corn. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I found this recipe, & immediately wanted to make it with my own spin. I am a Paramedic & we are never in the station very long so this was a perfect recipe & the guys loved it! I used ground turkey instead of beef , taco seasoning, added a can of black olives, & a can of corn to meat along with the beans. Topped with chopped green onions & sour cream. Thanks we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fascinating recipe. I followed it to the letter and ended up putting some hot sauce on the finished product for some additional zest. I'm not sure if I would make this as is again, it was a smidge bland for me, but this is a really clever base for future things. I didn't know you could make muffin mix in the slow cooker! My only major observation is this had an eerily similar texture to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is very tasty. The only thing I would suggest is not using a slow cooker to make it in. It's so much better if you bake it in the oven. I bake it at 350 for around 45 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Usually I add sliced black olives and onions to the meat mixture. It's so good baked, because the top is nice and crunchy, which is especially yummy if you sprinkle some shredded cheddar on top before you bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
With a few tweaks this was delicious and there were no leftovers between my roommates and I. Plus, as a college kid, the ingredients are affordable and easy to have on hand. I fried the hamburger with onion and seasoned it with taco seasoning. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used a jar of salsa. I added some cumin and red pepper flakes to make sure it wasn't bland. It only took about 3.5 hours in the crock pot and everything was great!Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I really enjoyed this and I must add it was kid friendly. I asked the kids what they would like in it and they add kidney beans and corn..instead of enchalada sauce I used a can of tomatoe sauce and two packets of taco seasoning. I douple the reciepe. except fore the cornbread I only used the one box..did find out the edges in the crock pot didnt cook as well still was a little mushy after 5 hrs, but all in all I really liked this and so did my family which was the best part they are the real judges of my reciepe finds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States