Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
thanks everyone.. I also "tweak" this recipe. This recipe was given to me by a friend and what I do to tweak it.. I double the meat, double the enchilada sauce, add chilli powder & garlic powder and double the cheese. Sometimes I also add chopped green chili's to the meat mixture. Sure, its just as easy putting this in the oven however, I like cooking things in the slow cooker so I dont have to sit there and watch it... I can throw it in early and have it ready by dinner. Thanks for the reviews this is my first recipe submitted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
As a kid I loved tamale pie BUT it had NO beans So did not use them I did use whole kernal corn. I included chilies I also added black olives.I live alone so I eat it for a couple days. It gets better , I froze the left overs. I'll let you know how that comes out. I liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Lone Star, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I will make this often. I tweaked it a little. Someone suggested adding jalapeno peppers so I cut and diced two fresh. I also sauteed an onion and 1/2 green pepper in with the ground beef. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used 1 jar of mild salsa and 1 jar of peach salsa. It gave it a slightly sweet taste. I also added about 1/2 cup of kefir (similar to sour cream). This recipe is so versatile and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am usually "all about the slow cooker" But, I was afraid the corn bread would be soggy.So I cooked it in the oven and it was really fast and good. Of course I hid carrots, broch, green and red bell pepper in the meat. Gotta get the veggies in where u can. My kids loved this! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skipper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Brandy thank you so much for this recipe. Its a great recipe to easily customize to anyones likes and dislikes. We cooked the hamburger as making taco meat added 1 can (drained) Ro*Tel and a choppd green and red pepper. Servied with extra cheese and sour cream once all cooked in the slow cooker. I have both a large oval and stand up 5qt crock pot, i used my stand up to make this recipe and only needed the 1 package of cornbread, if using an oval crock pot i see needing the 2nd package of corn bread to make 1 layer on top. Again thank you this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made a few changes, I added diced onion in the ground beef and used fresh garlic. I also substituted chili beans for the kidney beans. It didn't quite take the full 5 hours to cook, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbales143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe was a complete HIT with my entire family! I also added a few diced onions, cumin, and Adobo what an EASY meal to make:) Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eikoow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The only change I made to this was doubling up on the ground beef. In doing that, it was a little dry and I think adding another can of enchilada sauce would have been a good thing. Other than that, it was a nice meal. It's not hot at all which we like, so if you like hot, you'll have to adjust to your tastes. This worked perfectly in a 4 qt oblong slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This recipe was delicious and so easy to make. I did make some alterations, used ground turkey, and sauteed an onion with it. Also added a green pepper and didn't use beans as i'm not a fan. I cooked it in the oven at 400F for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Tastes alot like chili, my husband and I both enjoyed it and to be honest I don't think i've ever had a tamale. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made this last night in my oven @400 degrees for 30 minutes because I forgot to put it in the crockpot before I left for work. It came out fantastic...I made the following changes: added diced onions to the ground beef while it was browning and then added Franks's Hot Sauce to the mixture as whll as Chili Powder. We each had seconds and there was enough left over for hubby to take to work the next day for lunch. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTY BOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States