Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is very good. I did tweak it a little since we like things spicy. First, I doubled the recipe since I have a large oval slow cooker. I added some sauteed diced onions and bell peppers plus some chopped jalapenos (from a can) to the meat mixture. I also added jalapenos to the cornbread mixture. Also, 2/3 cups of milk for 2 packages of corn bread mix was not enough so I just kept adding until it looked like the right consistency. Finally, because the topping didn't brown in the slow cooker, I removed the crock and put it in the oven on "broil" for a couple of minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made Sals' Red Enchilada Sauce (which hubby said smelled wonderful, and I didn't think to taste before I put it in the meat mixture) for this, then did everything by the recipe. I put a towel over the crockpot under the lid, to keep moisture from dripping back down onto the top. (Thanks to Scotdog? for the tip) There was more muffin mix than the meat mixture. Hubby and I alone ate half of it. It has a good flavor, not quite spicy enough for us and the meat mixture tasted almost sweet to me. Not sure where that came from. Another crockpot recipe that I don't see any point to. This could be made faster and easier in a 13x9 pan and wouldn't be so hard to get out. Onions and garlic added to the meat while browning would help and maybe some cumin also. Next time it goes in the oven and I double the recipe for the meat mixture and maybe the muffin mix too. Thanks Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I doubled this recipe. It came out ok. I forgot to add the cheese. I added that when it was dished out. To me it was a little bland. I think it could have used a little more spice to it possibly a little more sauce. My hubby enjoyed this alot. Pretty quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
We did not really care for this . And I probably won't make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
thanks everyone.. I also "tweak" this recipe. This recipe was given to me by a friend and what I do to tweak it.. I double the meat, double the enchilada sauce, add chilli powder & garlic powder and double the cheese. Sometimes I also add chopped green chili's to the meat mixture. Sure, its just as easy putting this in the oven however, I like cooking things in the slow cooker so I dont have to sit there and watch it... I can throw it in early and have it ready by dinner. Thanks for the reviews this is my first recipe submitted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I am going to rate this low even though I did make a couple changes that I don't think impacted the outcome negatively. I did saute some onion and one clove of garlic with the meat and also added a touch of cumin and a cup of frozen corn. With that said, I really think this needed more flavor and more heat. Maybe some diced jalapenos. I used jiffy cornbread mix since it was the only one I could find of that size and thought it was way to sweet for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was good! My husband and I ate about 2/3 of the meal ourselves. However, like the others, I would double the recipe. It tasted more like chili, but definitely good. Here's what I did: 1 lb. beef & 1 lb. ground turkey 1 can original Rotel 2 cans of kidney beans 1 can of enchilada sauce (I don't care for it) 2 pkg Martha White sweet yellow cornbread mix 2/3 c. milk 2 eggs 4 tbsp melted butter 1 cup shredded 2% cheddar I browned the beef and turkey with adding garlic powder, black pepper, and onion powder. Once browned I added the rotel with most juice drained so the meat could absorb the flavor. Did that for 10 minutes while mixed up the cornbread, milk, eggs, and butter with the cheese. Put the meat mix in the bottom of the crockpot added the bean and sauce. Mixed up really well. Then, poured cornbread mix on top. cooked for 5 hours on low. warmed up nicely the next day in the oven on 400 for about 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
As a kid I loved tamale pie BUT it had NO beans So did not use them I did use whole kernal corn. I included chilies I also added black olives.I live alone so I eat it for a couple days. It gets better , I froze the left overs. I'll let you know how that comes out. I liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Lone Star, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Possibly a good addition to this recipe would be jalapino cornbread topping. We also like things a bit spicier and will try this again w/the addition of some spicier spices along w/the jalapino cornbread. I also think the type of enchilada sauce is a key factor as so many of the canned varieties are not very good at all. At least the ones we have tried. Homemade is so much better. I also think this recipe may fair better cooked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I will make this often. I tweaked it a little. Someone suggested adding jalapeno peppers so I cut and diced two fresh. I also sauteed an onion and 1/2 green pepper in with the ground beef. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used 1 jar of mild salsa and 1 jar of peach salsa. It gave it a slightly sweet taste. I also added about 1/2 cup of kefir (similar to sour cream). This recipe is so versatile and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States