Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good. I baked in oven at 350 for 30 min. Instead of using boxed corn bread, I used Golden Sweet Cornbread recipe from this site and just added cheese into it. For the meat mixture, I also added Hot Rotel, green pepper, onion, garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
MMMMMMM this was so good and easy. I made my own enchilada sauce, used heinz chili style mixed beans and added some chopped jalepenos. They were out of cornbread mix at the grocers so I used stovetop cornbread stuffing mix for the topper and it was a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I love this easy recipe, I exchanged chili beans for the kidney beans because my husband prefers them. Served it with sour cream and it was great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe that you can tweak to your personal preferences. It had enough spice for our family. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Good for a simple recipe and I love the fact that it could be made in the crockpot. The topping came very nicely for me... I will definitely make this again but adjust it more to my liking (spicer) per other suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Family loved this dish. Only change I made was to double it. Leftovers were great too. I've made this twice since the first time, once for a potluck and have received nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this and it was a Hit.. I doubled the recipe and froze the other half for later,, was just as good as the first night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pondsr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This turned out nicely, and I would make it again. I omitted the beans and added corn and black olives instead. I also sprinkled cheddar cheese over the top of the cornbread, which tasted really good once it was cooked. I did not use my crockpot, I simply baked the pie in the oven at about 380 degrees for 30 minutes. This is a really simple recipe that comes out tasting great, especially with some sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I only didn't give it 5 stars because my topping never fully set up and I couldn't understand why. I added jalepenos to the corn bread topping and green chilies to the mixture to spice it up. It was a hit regardless of the doughy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a huge disappointment. The cornbread was dry and crumbly, the flavor of the "meat" portion ranged from tasteless to downright unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States