Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great and easy! Even my picky son gobbled it up! I took the advice of other reviewers and added a jar of Pace Picante sauce. (dumped the whole thing in by mistake-but it was fine!) I also subbed black beans for the kidney beans. While I will definitely make it again, I think I will tweak the recipe further. I thought the ratio of cornbread (too much) to meat was off - so I will use 2lbs of meat next time. I would like to try 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 ground beef. My husband thinks that corn would be a good addition to the meat-so I will throw in a cup of frozen kernels. I think a can of diced tomatoes (with chilis) or a chunkier salsa would be a good addition. I didn't find that the cheese was noticible in the cornbread, I'd like to add it to the meat mixture instead. I cooked it exactly 5 hours on low and it was perfect. I think it's a great recipe and very adaptable to whatever you have on hand and your own preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Really fabulous!! I took another reviewer's advice and added a taco seasoning , (my own mixture), to the meat while browning in the frying pan. I also used onion and garlic during that time too! I added more enchilada sauce as someone suggested. I didn't have to cook it in the slow cooker for the full 5 hours. My corn bread seemed to set way before then. It was delicous and there weren't many leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is Great, Substituted 1/2 cup habanero cheese for the cheddar and cut down the corn bread mix by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good. I baked in oven at 350 for 30 min. Instead of using boxed corn bread, I used Golden Sweet Cornbread recipe from this site and just added cheese into it. For the meat mixture, I also added Hot Rotel, green pepper, onion, garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
MMMMMMM this was so good and easy. I made my own enchilada sauce, used heinz chili style mixed beans and added some chopped jalepenos. They were out of cornbread mix at the grocers so I used stovetop cornbread stuffing mix for the topper and it was a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I love this easy recipe, I exchanged chili beans for the kidney beans because my husband prefers them. Served it with sour cream and it was great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe that you can tweak to your personal preferences. It had enough spice for our family. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Good for a simple recipe and I love the fact that it could be made in the crockpot. The topping came very nicely for me... I will definitely make this again but adjust it more to my liking (spicer) per other suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Family loved this dish. Only change I made was to double it. Leftovers were great too. I've made this twice since the first time, once for a potluck and have received nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this and it was a Hit.. I doubled the recipe and froze the other half for later,, was just as good as the first night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pondsr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States