Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Got 5 stars from my sister when I made this for her birthday. She loves tamales and this is an easy way to make something pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My family LOVES this, and I have some picky eaters. I love that I can triple the recipe without any ill effects. The only thing I don't triple is the corn bread portion. That I simply double (it won't fit in my slow cooker otherwise. I also add onions- cooked with the ground beef, cumin, oregano and chili powder. Otherwise a great reciipe that I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smkearney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
A great, simple-to-make dinner for those busy days. The only change I made was adding some diced onions to the beef and a bit more cheese to the cornbread mix. The kids loved it, especially served with some sour cream on the side. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe. Have made it twice and got compliments (rare event!) from my husband both times. I bake it as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Tweaked it a little, added a can of corn and a sm can of olives and made enchilada sauce from a packet. Daughter says 5 stars!! Will definitly keep in my recipe arsonal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I ran out of time so I baked it in the oven. Just bake it by the cornbread directions. I liked the way the sweetness of the cornbread cancelled out some of the spiciness of the enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We made this tamale pie a few months ago as the recipe is in our smaller slow cooker. It was great. I am doubling the recipe for a weekly Sunday dinner we have with friends and taking this for Mexican night. I am looking forward to sharing it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
was just okay, not bad, just not what I was expecting. The cornbread layer was delicious, but the meat and beans were just so-so. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe as-is and it was only OK. Frankly, we just didn’t like the kidney beans. But I liked the enchilada sauce and thought the recipe might be worth a try with some tweaking. Instead of kidney beans, I substituted a layer of low-fat refried beans. I also cooked this in the oven because I was pressed for time. It was great - my husband and son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States