Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
use chili beans & powder.add corn & black olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hartsellem
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My husband loved this. I threw in 1/2 of a red onion (chopped) & a can of green chilies - just to get some veggies in there. Next time I may add a whole red onion, couldn't really taste it and we love onion. Also, my slow cooker always seems to cook faster than it should, so it was done at least 1 hour early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Don't know what it was but the taste was just off. I did not care for this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Giving this 5 stars because it's such a great idea but, believe me, we're the mild family, nothing hot and spicy - this was truly bland. I even added half a bottle of salsa and some chili powder to the mixture and it was fairly tasteless, I think the way to spice it up will be to add a packet of taco seasoning to the browned beef and simmer a bit. I will also add a whole bottle of salsa and more than a bit of chili powder. However, the corn bread rocked! I was a bit worried if the corn bread would get done, be gooey or hard as a rock. It was perfect and I really believe with some tweaking this recipe will become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent!! I made some changes like using chili beans rather than kidney, added some corn and kinda made it my own. Very easy to customize. Doesn't get any easier than this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
this was great and adaptable. I do the meat part in a cast iron pan then toss in the oven with the corn mix on top...one pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent .... I always add chopped onions and chopped garlic when browning ground turkey. I added some Chili powder, too. I used white kidney beans but next time I will used corn instead. I was amazed how nice the corn bread turned out. Totally, totally YUMMY. We will be having this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
INSTEAD OF CORN MUFFIN MIX STUFF, I MADE "EASY CORN PUDDING" AND USED IT ON TOP.. BAKED IT.. 350 DEGREES.. YUM.. HUBBY LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very yummy! -although I tweaked the recipe a bit based on other reviewer comments. Others said the bread was too much compared to meat mixture. I didn't want to add more meat so added veggies. Added about 1/3 C canned (Trader Joes) corn, 2.3 oz can sliced olives, 14.5 oz can of Trader Joes diced & fire roasted tomatoes with organic green chiles. As others I also sauteed onions with the ground beef and also threw in 2 frozen Dorot crushed garlic cubes (equiv 2 cloves). Used 12 oz bottle of Trader Joe's enchilada sauce. Also put shredded cheese on top of corn bread topping instead of mixed with it. Digital crock-pot ran for 8 hrs on low, then on warm for another 2 (no delay start). Family doesn't do too spicy & this came out perfect for us. Served w/dollop of sour cream to tame it when needed. Will next try making it vegetarian w/Morningstar Mealstarters & will report back. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
excellent, next time double add more jalapenos bell pepper fresh garlic chili pwr .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States