Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Just a suggestion "Kitchen" staff. This is a good base recipe, but is bland made as is. Mexican casserole might be better title as you will need the extra onion, pepper, salsa, chilies,etc. to taste well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weatherdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe and I was sorely disappointed! It tasted nothing like tamales! If I make something like this again I will use shredded slow cooker beef, jalapenos & spices with tamale sauce and a masa harina dough and layer it. perhaps bake it in the oven. On a good note, the guys really liked it when I put it on a bed of crushed lime tortillas and lettuce with salsa ranch dressing and extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Like other reviewers, I did not like the sweetness of the corn bread. I don't like sweet things in general, but this didn't seem to "go" with the other flavors very well. I would make this again, but I would modify some things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I thought this turned out delicious. It was very easy and so tasty. The corn bread on top was sweet and the filling was tasty. I doubled the corn bread but it turnedout to be too much. I"m making it again and doubling the filling and keeping it a single layer corn bread. I also added onions and other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Young Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I didn't do slow cooker method just baked in oven My husband loved the cornbread topping but I found it to sweet for my liking. I added taco seasoning to give it more taste it was really to bland for me with just the enchalida sause and beans. 2 stars basically it was chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I don't know if we did something wrong but this recipe was very bland. We served it on fight night and other people ate it so maybe it's just a matter of preference. Too bad because I like the concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious..I tweeked it a bit. I used 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey and 2 boxes of corn bread mix. In my turkey I added a couple cloves crushed garlic, half a finely chopped jalepeno, half an onion, a can of black beans and my own taco seasoning. I stirred in the enchilada sauce. In my cornbread mix I added 1 egg , 1/3 cup milk, 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup cheese and 1/2 of a chopped jalepeno. It is so tweeked because I used 2 different recipes and combined the ideas. Lol I put it in the slow cooker onb medium /low for about 4.5 or 5 hrs and it turned out excellent. The leftovers are spectacular too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I will try this again because I think the reason I wasn't a huge fan of it was my own fault. It didn't seem to have enough meat for the amount of corn bread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe! We have made this several times and each time is better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States