Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My family really enjoys this recipe. It was easy to prepare and the choice of ingredients is very flexible. We will mix in whatever vegetables we have in the fridge and it always comes out great. It is excellent with beef, but we often use ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keevel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This dish was good! My hubby and I put a dollop of sour cream on top and ate it up. Only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was because I think it could've had more veggies in it... I'll probably add mushrooms and corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Rickett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was really good, I read some suggestions and doubled up on the meat, enchilada sauce and the corn bread and ingredents for the corn bread. Everyone, including a 5 y/o and 10 y/o enjoyed it and had seconds! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
There was too much cornbread:meat & bean mixture, too much garlic, and something was just missing. I knew I was not going to recreate a tamale, but I was looking for a flavor profile & this is close, but just lacking somehow. I want to try it again, but I'll spend some time picking apart my leftovers to come up with ideas to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I want to warn first time users of this recipe that it only took 3 hrs. on low in our Hamilton Beach slow cooker. I also tweaked the recipe. First I cooked and drained the meat. Next returned the meat to the skillet added a medium chopped onion, & one clove minced garlic. Sauteed this until the onion was transparent. We don't care for kidney beans so I substituted bush's mild chili beans. Added the enchilada sauce as directed & put in the bottom of the crockpot. In small skillet I sauteed 2 T chopped red bell bepper, 1 jalapeno chopped(seeds removed), & 1/4 med. onion chopped. Lastly I added 1/3 C frozen corn to th skillet & cooked it until just warm. Added the sauteed veggies to the cornbread toping mixture. Topped the meat mixture. Tweak it with what your family prefers. Just be sure to check it as your crockpot may cook fast like mine. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this exactly as written except that I doubled the cornbread portion as directed by other reviewers for my large crockpot. The whole family liked it, but I thought the layer of cornbread was disproportionately thick. Next time I will stick to one box of cornbread, and I will probably try to spice it up some more. It was a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Super easy and really good. I added chili powder, garlic and frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is my husband's favorite!!!! He asks for it at least once a month! The only thing I do different is make it in the oven instead of the crockpot. Delicious topped with green chiles and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
easy, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
lacking on all counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States