Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Nothing to making this, great. Have also made this in oven and added blk olives and crime corn. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I found this recipe, & immediately wanted to make it with my own spin. I am a Paramedic & we are never in the station very long so this was a perfect recipe & the guys loved it! I used ground turkey instead of beef , taco seasoning, added a can of black olives, & a can of corn to meat along with the beans. Topped with chopped green onions & sour cream. Thanks we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fascinating recipe. I followed it to the letter and ended up putting some hot sauce on the finished product for some additional zest. I'm not sure if I would make this as is again, it was a smidge bland for me, but this is a really clever base for future things. I didn't know you could make muffin mix in the slow cooker! My only major observation is this had an eerily similar texture to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is very tasty. The only thing I would suggest is not using a slow cooker to make it in. It's so much better if you bake it in the oven. I bake it at 350 for around 45 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Usually I add sliced black olives and onions to the meat mixture. It's so good baked, because the top is nice and crunchy, which is especially yummy if you sprinkle some shredded cheddar on top before you bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
With a few tweaks this was delicious and there were no leftovers between my roommates and I. Plus, as a college kid, the ingredients are affordable and easy to have on hand. I fried the hamburger with onion and seasoned it with taco seasoning. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used a jar of salsa. I added some cumin and red pepper flakes to make sure it wasn't bland. It only took about 3.5 hours in the crock pot and everything was great!Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I really enjoyed this and I must add it was kid friendly. I asked the kids what they would like in it and they add kidney beans and corn..instead of enchalada sauce I used a can of tomatoe sauce and two packets of taco seasoning. I douple the reciepe. except fore the cornbread I only used the one box..did find out the edges in the crock pot didnt cook as well still was a little mushy after 5 hrs, but all in all I really liked this and so did my family which was the best part they are the real judges of my reciepe finds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
sooooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessvowels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Made this and totally loved it! I did add a few things here and there, mostly because I had them and wanted to use them. This recipe is one of those that's a great starting off point. For the people that gave low scores because they thought it could be made faster in the oven, or "didn't see the point" in cooking it in the slow cooker - can't just about anything made in a slow cooker be made a different way, faster? I look specifically for slow cooker recipes, because I cook at work and don't have a stove or oven. I never would have thought the cornbread topping would work, so I'm glad this recipe was here. My family (we own a shop, so we are all here eating out of the slow cooker) gets tired of soup and soupy stuff, so I love seeing recipes for the slow cooker that have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This received rave reviews during a work function. So easy to make and so good. I added peppers for more of a kick. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My tweak was to make it Gluten Free. I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix. I may make this vegetarian for a "Meatless Monday" meal by adding diced red and green bell peppers, black beans, red kidney, and pintos instead of the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Janzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States