Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe that you can tweak to your personal preferences. It had enough spice for our family. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Good for a simple recipe and I love the fact that it could be made in the crockpot. The topping came very nicely for me... I will definitely make this again but adjust it more to my liking (spicer) per other suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Family loved this dish. Only change I made was to double it. Leftovers were great too. I've made this twice since the first time, once for a potluck and have received nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this and it was a Hit.. I doubled the recipe and froze the other half for later,, was just as good as the first night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pondsr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This turned out nicely, and I would make it again. I omitted the beans and added corn and black olives instead. I also sprinkled cheddar cheese over the top of the cornbread, which tasted really good once it was cooked. I did not use my crockpot, I simply baked the pie in the oven at about 380 degrees for 30 minutes. This is a really simple recipe that comes out tasting great, especially with some sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I only didn't give it 5 stars because my topping never fully set up and I couldn't understand why. I added jalepenos to the corn bread topping and green chilies to the mixture to spice it up. It was a hit regardless of the doughy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a huge disappointment. The cornbread was dry and crumbly, the flavor of the "meat" portion ranged from tasteless to downright unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
All I have to say in my 4 year old daughters words...wow, this is the best you ever made! Needless to say, we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used the oven method with a 13" x 9" x"3 pan @ about 380 deg. I had many of the ingredients already in my freezer from over preparing for a batch of chili. (That is how I found the recipe... I used the ingredient function: ground beef, kidney beans) My beef mixture already had sauteed onions in it. I added a can of whole kernal corn to the beef mixture as well as the corn bread batter. I added a small can of sliced olives, a med size can of chopped green chilis. I forgot to add the cheese, darnit! Boy this was easy! I'll be making this again. I bet it's even better with the cheese! I baked until the corn bread was golden brown. Next time I believe I'll bake the basic ingredients about 25 minutes before I add the cornbread batter to the top. I think it will be better. I think it will also help the cornbread cook from the underside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States