Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I only didn't give it 5 stars because my topping never fully set up and I couldn't understand why. I added jalepenos to the corn bread topping and green chilies to the mixture to spice it up. It was a hit regardless of the doughy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a huge disappointment. The cornbread was dry and crumbly, the flavor of the "meat" portion ranged from tasteless to downright unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
All I have to say in my 4 year old daughters words...wow, this is the best you ever made! Needless to say, we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used the oven method with a 13" x 9" x"3 pan @ about 380 deg. I had many of the ingredients already in my freezer from over preparing for a batch of chili. (That is how I found the recipe... I used the ingredient function: ground beef, kidney beans) My beef mixture already had sauteed onions in it. I added a can of whole kernal corn to the beef mixture as well as the corn bread batter. I added a small can of sliced olives, a med size can of chopped green chilis. I forgot to add the cheese, darnit! Boy this was easy! I'll be making this again. I bet it's even better with the cheese! I baked until the corn bread was golden brown. Next time I believe I'll bake the basic ingredients about 25 minutes before I add the cornbread batter to the top. I think it will be better. I think it will also help the cornbread cook from the underside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was very good... picky eaters ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I found this dry and pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUZJACS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I had my reservations about this dish, but was impressed with the results. The toppings llike sour cream and cheese did make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe was good. It is great for a quick throw-together meal. I made mine with ground turkey instead of beef and think it lacked in the richness of taste. Next time will make it with beef. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States