Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This turned out nicely, and I would make it again. I omitted the beans and added corn and black olives instead. I also sprinkled cheddar cheese over the top of the cornbread, which tasted really good once it was cooked. I did not use my crockpot, I simply baked the pie in the oven at about 380 degrees for 30 minutes. This is a really simple recipe that comes out tasting great, especially with some sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I only didn't give it 5 stars because my topping never fully set up and I couldn't understand why. I added jalepenos to the corn bread topping and green chilies to the mixture to spice it up. It was a hit regardless of the doughy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a huge disappointment. The cornbread was dry and crumbly, the flavor of the "meat" portion ranged from tasteless to downright unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
All I have to say in my 4 year old daughters words...wow, this is the best you ever made! Needless to say, we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used the oven method with a 13" x 9" x"3 pan @ about 380 deg. I had many of the ingredients already in my freezer from over preparing for a batch of chili. (That is how I found the recipe... I used the ingredient function: ground beef, kidney beans) My beef mixture already had sauteed onions in it. I added a can of whole kernal corn to the beef mixture as well as the corn bread batter. I added a small can of sliced olives, a med size can of chopped green chilis. I forgot to add the cheese, darnit! Boy this was easy! I'll be making this again. I bet it's even better with the cheese! I baked until the corn bread was golden brown. Next time I believe I'll bake the basic ingredients about 25 minutes before I add the cornbread batter to the top. I think it will be better. I think it will also help the cornbread cook from the underside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was very good... picky eaters ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I found this dry and pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Delano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I had my reservations about this dish, but was impressed with the results. The toppings llike sour cream and cheese did make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe was good. It is great for a quick throw-together meal. I made mine with ground turkey instead of beef and think it lacked in the richness of taste. Next time will make it with beef. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States