Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very easy! I did add taco seasoning and also used chili beans cause thats what i had on hand. I was eager to eat and just baked it for as long as the jiffy package said the corn bread would take!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This recipie looked good but it missed the mark in several ways. the cornbread did not cook all the way through and I thought it may be my crockpot but I could tell it wasn't because the meat and beans were burnt. Secondly, the portions were innacurate. This would have fed 3 people at best, not 6, so I was dissapointed. Lastly, I used fresh garlic, chili powder, salt, pepper, cumin and it was still underseasoned. I would need to alter this a lot to make it again but I would rather make something else at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Great Recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
No taste. 5 hours is too long on low. I added corn and salt. Edible now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
One of my family's favorites. We added 2oz of diced jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel Tello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The flavor was good but it was really dry. After 4 hours on low the edges started burning. Don't think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So easy and delicious!!! Served with sour cream, grated cheddar cheese, chopped tomato, green onion & black olives...YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great template. You can add almost any ingredients you'd like to suit your taste. We added corn, tomatoes, diced chilies and olives. We also prefer a homemade cornbread topping, therefore we did not use the boxed option. It really doesn't take much more time to make it homemade. Thanks for this recipe. We loved it and will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
very good. I used chili beans and spices in the meat. Cooked about 3 hours on low in the show cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did modify a bit, as others have. Sauteed onion, red bell pepper and half a fresh jalapeno pepper until translucent. Added beef to pot and browned. Added several shakes of Mrs. Dash Spicy. When browned, put beef mixture in crock pot, added a can of medium spicy enchilada sauce and one small can tomato paste. Also added half a bag of frozen corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I used 2 boxes of Jiff cornbread mix, 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk mixed, then added 1 cup cheddar cheese. I poured that on top of the beef already in the crock pot and put it on low for 4 hours. When it was done, I topped it with more cheddar cheese and more black olives and then put it under the broiler just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lagueux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States