Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Made this last night with the following adjustments: browned the beef with the taco seasoning to give it more flavor, used a 10.75 oz. can of tomato soup instead of the 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, added a packet of ranch dressing, only used 1 can of beans, used 1 can of "southwestern style" diced tomatoes (diced tomatoes and jalapenos) and 1 can of regular diced tomatoes, and only added 1 cup of water. It was perfect -- had a great consistency (not too thick, not too runny) and was spicy but not too hot. Definitely add a dollop of sour cream! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
824 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Best taco soup I've ever made! I made it a day early and took it to an office lunch (oh, was much better the second day), and it got raves. I did make a few small changes to the recipe, but nothing substantive...I browned the ground beef with chopped onion and garlic. I used a can of diced tomatoes that had jalapeno peppers mixed in, instead of a separate can of chili peppers. Omitted the water and added a second can of tomato sauce, and substituted black beans for kidney beans. The final addition...was a tablespoon or so of brown sugar, instead of the corn water. As I said, it got raves, and this is definitely a keeper. Thanks Janeen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This recipe is a good base but I felt it needed some spicing up. I sauted the onions and about a teaspoon of garlic with the meat. I also added the dressing and the taco seasoning to the meat before adding to the crock pot. I tasted the mix before adding water and felt it was too bland, so I added extra cumin and chili powder and a bottle of Mexican beer rather than water. I think the beer really made a big difference. I also served with cheese, sour cream, onions, and cheddar-jalepeno beer bread. I will probably make this again as it was a good start to the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
What an awesome, simple recipe!! It can cook well over 8 hours, too. I made mine with ground turkey and the beef was never missed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Five stars because this is very easy, really tasty, super economical, can feed a crowd, and makes great leftovers. By the time all the ingredients were added, my 4-quart crockpot was completely full. This is a HUGE amount of food! All I had on hand was chicken taco spices, but it worked just fine (with a little extra salt & pepper while browning the hamburger). We topped ours with shredded Colby-Jack and lite sour cream, and warmed our tortilla chips on a cookie sheet at 350 for 3-4 minutes for extra crunch and flavor. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Excellent and Easy! I added a package of Ranch Dip mix as well. Once meat was brown, sprinkled a bit of the taco mix & ranch mix in to flavor the meat some. Left out the corn and didn't miss it. But added a small can of diced jalapeno peppers as well as the green chili peppers (they really have no heat to them!) and it was rather spicy. Might suggest 1/3 to 1/2 can of jalapenos for the tentative! Used black beans also...very good! Cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips a must have!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a nice recipe for the winter! I like to use black beans instead of chili beans and ground turkey instead of beef. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This tasted just like chili and nothing like tacos. I won't be making this one again. My husband is not a chili lover for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Soup was very good. I also added the ranch dressing packet. I added too many green chiles and the family thought it was a little too spicy but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States