Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
While trying to find low-budget uses for ground beef (there are two of us and four pounds of it in our freezer right now!) I stumbled across this recipe and was instantly intrigued. Everyone else suggests chili, goulash, chili, bolognese, chili, CHILI... and that gets so boring. But taco soup I can make without having to buy lettuce for actual tacos! I had to change the tomato sauce for condensed tomato soup since that was what I had on hand, and also used plain pintos instead of chili beans with a tablespoon of my own chili seasoning. No green chilis because we don't like our food too spicy. Put it all into my slow-cooker and let it all sit togethr until it was time to turn on the machine, then let it do all the cooking while I went to work! All in all it came out pretty good, though it could certainly use some tweaking. Next time I'll skip the chili seasoning and just use two packets of taco seasoning instead. My favorite part is the ease of making and cleaning up, and how inexpensive it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very good! I sauteed onions in olive oil then browned the ground beef, then added tomato sauce w/taco seasoning pkt. Mix well, then pour into crock pot with all your other ingredients. When done topped with mexican blend cheese and served with crispy tortilla chips. Tip: leave ground beef in big chunks when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Love this especially in cold weather. I don't add water (it's not necessary) and I use fresh jalapenos instead of canned chili's. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Awesome recipe!!! I used ground turkey seasoned with taco seasoning, one can of corn, can of ranch beans, can of tomato sauce and package of ranch seasoning also onion and minced bell pepper . Added one cup of water. Cooked on low in crockpot for about 6 hrs. YUMMY! Topped with shredded cheese and ate with Frito scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr. Dad
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
So very easy to do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is a perfect recipe. Usually when I make soups I get sick of them before I run out, but not this one. I've been eating this for days and it's incredible. I garnish with fresh cilantro, cheddar cheese, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Good base recipe. To control sodium I used canned veggies without added salt and reduced sodium taco seasoning. Next time I make this I would either omit the water or cut down to 1c for a thicker texture. I think it needs a little more spice so next time will probably add a packet of ranch dressing mix. However it is a good recipe just needs tweaking for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This is a great and simple soup. House smelled wonderful when I got home from work. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Five stars for being fast, easy and delicious . It was also a great leftover for work the next day. I make chili a lot and this was a nice change. I love slow cooker meals that have great protein and fiber. This was nice and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbeck433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made this today and it was delicious! Used 1 can of beef broth & 1 can of chicken broth instead of water. Also used a small can of tomatoe paste instead of the canned tomatoes as I didn't have them on hand. I left out the chili peppers also. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States