Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a very good recipe..a can of RoTel tomatoes gives it some zip..a lady at my church makes this all the time. You can change up the type of beans you use depending on your preference..but black beans or pinto are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this for dinner one evening and we thought it was delicious. The only thing I change was I didn't add any black olives as I did not have any. Will certainly make it again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The combination of ingredients is delish. However the consistency was a bit off. I added an extra cup of water and a cup of tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I thought this was delicious and will continue to make! I followed the recipe exactly with 2 minor exceptions: added a 7oz can of diced green chiles (because i love them) and I used a cup of tomato sauce instead of tomato juice and just filled the tomato sauce can with water. Can't wait to make it during the winter when it isn't 100 degrees outside here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindseyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I've made this recipe twice already, and it's great! I didn't have tomato juice so I substituted a small jar of medium salsa and a cup of water. I also used a small can of sliced black olives instead of what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My family enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and I will continue to make this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Really tasty! The only reason i gave it four stars was because I added jalepanos and 1 extra can of green chilis plus used only half the olives the recipe called for. Overall, excellent for nachos, tacos or soup! My husband ate this all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I couldn't find 15.5oz can of sliced ripe olives. I used a 3.8 oz can and it was sufficient. I also put shredded pepper jack cheese over the servings with crushed taco chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have been making this soup for years & it is so versatile. I add a can of chili beans to give it a little more zip. I make the soup & we use the leftovers for several days. We use a slotted spoon & make soft tacos one night, the next night we have a potato bar...just put it on top of a baked potato & add your fave toppings, sour cream shredded cheese,etc. We also make nachos with it...my fave! Just put on top of tortilla chips, add shredded cheese, sour cream & olives. The possibilites are endless. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Oh my gosh! This was amazing!I used 1 1/2lbs of very lean natural ground beef, didn't have to drain it! I used 2 freshly diced tomatoes and omitted the chiles because my kids don't like anything hot. I also added a cup of beef broth and went ahead and drained the cans of corn (I normally use frozen corn, but didn't have any) and olives so it wouldn't be too watery. I used about a cup of dry black beans (I try to avoid canned processed foods) and I slightly cooked the onion, 4 cloves of minced garlic, and bell pepper in the skillet when the meat was just about done browning. I served different toppings to put on top: shredded Mexican style cheese, sliced avocado, sour cream, fried corn tortilla strips, and cut up some limes. Nice little make-it-your-own taco soup bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States