Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very good and very easy. I added some Worchestershire sauce and a pkg of onion soup mix in with the tomatoes and let the pot sit on low all day. The steak was tender and the sauce was perfect with mashed potatoes. ~~~Since my previous review, I've made this steak with and without browning the meat first, and I can't tell much of a difference. Now I just add some flour into the sauce mixture for thickening purposes and it's still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I have never made swiss steak before and thought it might just be an "alright" meal. I was surprised at how easy is was. I did make some changes based on my families likes. Instead of carrots and celery (my kids wont eat it) I added a small can of cut up mushrooms, garlic and mushroom diced tomatoes and a diced fresh tomatoe. I didn't have 10 hours so I cooked it on high for 4 hours then turned to low for 2-3 more hours. I left this and a bag of boil-in-bag rice with the sitter. When I arrived home that night there was NONE left. They said it was so good they couldn't stop eating it! When my husband arrived home he said that there was barley enough for him. I assume it was delicious (since I didn't even get any). I will definatly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie Gonzales
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I followed the basic ingredients and measurements for this Swiss Steak but was too lazy to sear the meat or shred the carrots. I put the veggies in the crock pot, then the meat chunks, threw in the seasonings and flour and gave it a stir. It turned out great! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was great. I did add fresh mushrooms and half a green pepper. I also just sliced baby carrots in half. I did brown the meat and not the veggies. Then I poured between 1/4 and 1/2 a cup of red wine in the pan to get all the flavor. After it had cooked for several hours I checked on it and added a can of mushroom soup to thicken the sauce a bit....YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe goodcook57.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
One of the reviews left out the celery and onion. And replaced them with mushrooms and garlic. I used that version of the recipe and added 2 small cans of mushrooms and a teaspoon of garlic. I also added a couple beef bouillon cubes. Probably the only thing I would change is to add a little more garlic. I never expected this to be that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I used tomatoes with herbs. I browned the meat and sauteed the vegetables too. Next time I will throw in the vegetables raw. I slow cooked it on high for 3 hrs. The end result was terrific. My family ate it up. My husband commented that the mashed potatoes made the meal complete. Thanks for the recipe that will be used in our home for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I didn't think this would be that good, but I had everything on hand and love crockpot meals, so I gave it a whirl. We all loved it!! I didn't have time to do the browning so I skipped that part. Was great without it. I also used bison round steak, and lots of baby carrots. Used only one can (14 oz) of petite diced tomatoes, and this was plenty. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Great recipe! I can't believe how tender the meat comes out this way (I usually make a round steak recipe that my mom always made, and it's definitely not as good. . .). I put this in the crock pot for about 4 hours on high, and it turned out great. I made mashed potatoes to go with it, but next time I think I'll make noodles or rice so the gravy can be soaked up more. My husband said when his mom used to make swiss steak, she'd put cheese on it, so I'll probably try that next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I had to give this recipe 5 stars. My kids, who are very fussy eaters love it and want it all of the time, which is great, it has meat, vegies, all of that healthy stuff. What more could I ask for. Not only that you can add any other vegies to it that you like. I use the tinned tomatos with the added hearbs, and sometimes I add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
best swiss steak I have ever cooked and so easy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States