Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was eager to try this recipe to use up a round steak I had in the freezer. It was certainly edible but "blah," and the meat stayed very tough even after 9 hours. It's too bad because I really wanted to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandeen Gemanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had never eaten swiss steak before so I didn't have any expectations. I did not sear the meat but put it in the cooker in a frozen block. The meat turned out fork tender and I think tomorrow I may make a vegetable beef soup out of the leftovers, adding some more vegetables. That's what the soupy part reminded me of, vegetable beef soup. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great tasting, especially as leftovers the day after. I made this gluten-free by coating meat in Pamela's GF Baking Mix and serving over quinoa. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Didn't change a thing, and certainly will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. There wasn't anything wrong with it, I just didn't care for it very much. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awesome! Added Rotel diced tomatoes with peppers to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhernandez8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Pretty good, I think I left out the celery and added green and red peppers, not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was so yummy, exactly what I wanted. I didn't brown the meat or veg first, just put it all in on high for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
was looking for a different recipe and thought this would be perfect so I wouldnt need to stop baking and cook dinner. it smelled lovely as it cooked but it just didnt do it for us. lacked taste and if I were to make it again I'd add tomato sauce and paste but then would it be swiss steak. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yummy just as described. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Santelli
Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States