Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good. Everyone liked. Served with brown rice instead of mashed potatoes. Also added 1/2 green pepper to recipe. I did not brown meat or sauté veggies. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was great. I followed all of the ingredients but I used about 2 pounds of top round steak and kept all the other ingredients the same. We don't like celery that much so just added 1 stalk for a bit of flavor. I seared the meat with the flour and seasonings. I then added a bit of red wine to de-glaze. I added this to the slow cooker. I also added some minced garlic and about 1.5 TBS of the dry onion package slow cooked about 4 hours high then 3 hrs low. It came out wonderful. Served with some brown rice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this recipe for my family and it was a hit! I didn't add the carrots and celery because I didn't have nay on hand, also I used one can of beef broth to the mix. It was delicious and I will continue to use this recipe. We served ours over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I sliced (not shredded) the carrots, and I did not saute the carrots or the celery but just put them into the crock pot to cook. Instead I sauteed some fresh chopped garlic with the onion. I drained the tomatoes and mixed the tom juice with the Worcester sauce and brown sugar, then poured over as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe, exactly. Browned the veggies and meat and actually measured everything for the first go. Overall the recipe is very good. I rated it 4 stars because I thought the brown sugar was too much and made the sauce a bit sweeter than I prefer. We ate the beef and veggies, but discarded most of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
good recipe, Added more onion, hot sauce, and green peppers. has a great flavor. Like to change things around. I wanted sauce to taste like a romesco sauce and it appears I did it. Thanks, Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I thought this was just okay. The sauce needs a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe, except for cooking the meat first. It came out dry and tasteless. Not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a decent base recipe. I added in chipotle tabasco sauce and a green pepper. I think some work still needs to be done with the sauce. I would like to experiment with a tomato juice, tomato sauce, and/or wine combination. In addition to that, the cooking time really needs to be adjusted. I cooked my rendition for 7 hours and as a result, most of the vegetables lost any semblance of texture that they may have had. I wouldn't recommend cooking this over 5 or 6 hours on the low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
my family loves this steak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Popejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States