Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very flavorful...We really liked this one....I used sirloin though and did not cut into pieces...I put steak in casserole dish atop the sauce....There was enough sauce to spoon over without covering completely...Baked in foil covered dish at 325 for 2 hours...Very tender and even more flavorful when we ate leftovers the following day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is fantastic, but I did change a few things. I only browned the meat and did not saute the vegetables. You can use pretty much any type of tasty, lean steak/roast cut that requires braising (cooking in liquid). I just added a 3 small whole garlic cloves, about another teaspoon for worcestershire sauce, and a teaspoon of... wait for it... UNSWEETENED COCOA POWDER. YUM! It adds just a touch of depth to the dish. This comes out really thick, almost like a stew, but it's so good. Especially with some cheesy mashed potatoes. I love that this recipe uses alot of fresh ingredients, you could always substitute fresh tomatoes for the canned, but then you have to deal with the skin if you don't peel them first. So yummy! This recipe is easy to make your own by adding in your favorite spices that work with tomato-based meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Tasty - but I agree with the other reviewer - this is a stew, not swiss steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We really liked this! It was very good and easy to prepare. It will definitely go on the "make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very flavorful! Slow cookers sometimes cook the flavor right out of food, but this one retains it's complex flavors. Great as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efaber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I loved this easy to prepare meal. I used the formatted recipe and added Paprika to the salt/pepper flour mixture before searing the meat. I used top round steak cut into serving size portions. Instead of shredding the carrots, I diced them. Thank you COOKCOOK57 for this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
SO easy, and we liked it. Served with rice, but next time will serve with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I will try this again but without the brown sugar and use a lot more seasonings...The carrots give it all the sweetness a "swiss steak" should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Used stewed tomatoes and cooked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Followed other suggestions and did not brown the meat. Threw it in crock and sprinkled w/ some Weber Steak n' Chop seasoning. Topped w/ the tomatoes and a chopped yellow and orange bell pepper. Whisked the 1/4c flour in w/ the juice from the 2 cans of tomatoes, worcestershire, brown sugar, and a packet of Lipton onion soup mix. Easy and delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States