Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I will try this again but without the brown sugar and use a lot more seasonings...The carrots give it all the sweetness a "swiss steak" should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Used stewed tomatoes and cooked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Followed other suggestions and did not brown the meat. Threw it in crock and sprinkled w/ some Weber Steak n' Chop seasoning. Topped w/ the tomatoes and a chopped yellow and orange bell pepper. Whisked the 1/4c flour in w/ the juice from the 2 cans of tomatoes, worcestershire, brown sugar, and a packet of Lipton onion soup mix. Easy and delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of chopping the carrots instead of shredding them. The meat was very tender and good, but as a whole the recipe was very bland. I think it would be much better with some added spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Super easy and delicious....only a few tweaks next time...cut carrots not shredded, add some flour/cornstarch to the tomato mixture to thicken the gravy a bit and a bit less brown sugar....we didn't want mashed potatoes so i boiled some in water/bouillon granules mix....perfect on a fall night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Phenomenal!! Loved this recipe and did follow others changes and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made this as the recipe states and even browned the meat and veggies before putting everything in the crock pot and I didn't like this at all. We found it quite bland and the sauce was way to sweet for our taste. Even after trying to spice it up with salt, pepper, sage, thyme, garlic and even some cayenne, it still didn't taste like something I'd be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Forgot carrots and brown sugar, but i don't like it sweet. Added mushrooms and it was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is one of my all time favorites. I do all the prep work the night before and put the crock in the frig. Next morning before I leave for work, I put it in the cooker and set on low. Dinner is ready when I get home. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was great! Something different and SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States