Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I really liked that this recipe used a lot of vegetables. Seeing all the colors in the pot made me feel good about the vitamins and nutrients. The finished product was alright. I was glad I substituted one can of diced tomatoes with green chilis or it would've been a little bland for my taste. I wish the liquid thickened up at the end to make a more hearty gravy. Serving over mashed potatoes is a very tasty way to present this, as well as a good way to keep the juices contained. I think this will be 4-star after the leftovers sit in the refrigerator overnight. We'll see! There is a Paula Deen version the Food Network site. I'm going to make that and compare the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have longed for my mother's Swiss Steak and I have not had it since before she passed away. I gave this a shot. I did not sautee the veggies but added. It was fantastic! My sister even praised it. I see have added mushrooms which I will try next time. I had to use a little more salt to take away the sweetness of the tomatoes. Also, I purshed two very large cans of tomatoes, which was twice of what was called for. I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very easy and very good, so good I had to forward the recipe to my mom as she loves swiss steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellant recipe Cookcooks57, will make again and again. I followed the recipe as printed. I think the meal has a better flavor when the meat is browned first. I then deglaze the pan with the juice from the diced tomatoes, then added it to the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I liked this. I added onion, red wine, french onion soup mix, beef boulion cubes. I substituted one can of tomatoes for 1 can of tomatoe soup. May it more 'tomatoey'. I also half the amt of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warwick, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Added crushed red peppers to the flour mix. Great Dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Wonderful flavor!! I followed the recipe except to add a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and I didn't have quite enough carrots. My meat was probably closer to 2 pounds, but browning the meat was key I think. It made an awesome gravy without having to do anything to it...just serve it up over mashed potatoes! We'll be doing this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe was amazing!! I switched it up a bit though, and loved the end result and so did hubby! I added 1 green pepper and 1 red pepper. I used 1 can diced tomatoes with juice and 1 can whole tomatoes in juice (and just mashed them up with a fork). I omitted the brown sugar, and added a dash of Gravy Master. Also I didn't saute the vegetables or brown the meat beforehand-- just didn't have the time and I thought the veggies might end up overcooked in the end. Instead of cooking for 8-10 hours on low, I cooked for 4 hours on high and then 1.5hours on low. The end result was amazing-- the meat was perfect and tender, and the flavors were delicious served over brown rice. Will definitely make again-- so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Followed recipe except for using 'diced tomatoes with green chile' for one of the two cans. Absolutely fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I really don't see the difference between this and an average vegetable soup. I added cheese and it made it better but still not superb. The kids loved it so I will definitely make it again and try some other reviewers tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States