Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
The males in my house would eat shoe leather if it was cooked in a crock pot!! They did enjoy this version of Swiss Steak. I DID flour and brown the meat which was cut in longer, wide strips, not "small pieces". But I DID NOT cook the veggies before placing in the crock pot--they will become tender without going through the sauteeing process first, so save a bunch of prep time by eliminating this step! Why would someone "shred" the carrots for this meal? This will turn them to mush after a few hours so cut them in 2" pieces! I only put a scant Tbsp. of brown sugar in the pot b/c I don't want it to taste sweet at all. By all means, make the mashed potatoes to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Meh. Neither my hubs or I were all that impressed with this. Not only was this bland, the meat had an odd (i.e. overcooked) texture. Bite-sized cuts of meat can sometimes dry out when slow cooked and that is exactly what happened here. Traditional Swiss steak is prepared using cube steaks (which essentially are round steaks that have been pounded thin / tenderized). It stews for several hours at a very low temperature (usually in an oven). If I were to ever attempt making Swiss steak again, that's how I'd prepare it. The idea of serving this over mashed potatoes was great (we did ours), but that's the only part of this meal that appealed to us. Thanks anyways, COOKCOOK57. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very easy! I made it gluten-free by replacing the flour with corn meal. Very tasty and the family enjoyed it...which is all that matters!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittstown, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I really liked that this recipe used a lot of vegetables. Seeing all the colors in the pot made me feel good about the vitamins and nutrients. The finished product was alright. I was glad I substituted one can of diced tomatoes with green chilis or it would've been a little bland for my taste. I wish the liquid thickened up at the end to make a more hearty gravy. Serving over mashed potatoes is a very tasty way to present this, as well as a good way to keep the juices contained. I think this will be 4-star after the leftovers sit in the refrigerator overnight. We'll see! There is a Paula Deen version the Food Network site. I'm going to make that and compare the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have longed for my mother's Swiss Steak and I have not had it since before she passed away. I gave this a shot. I did not sautee the veggies but added. It was fantastic! My sister even praised it. I see have added mushrooms which I will try next time. I had to use a little more salt to take away the sweetness of the tomatoes. Also, I purshed two very large cans of tomatoes, which was twice of what was called for. I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very easy and very good, so good I had to forward the recipe to my mom as she loves swiss steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellant recipe Cookcooks57, will make again and again. I followed the recipe as printed. I think the meal has a better flavor when the meat is browned first. I then deglaze the pan with the juice from the diced tomatoes, then added it to the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I liked this. I added onion, red wine, french onion soup mix, beef boulion cubes. I substituted one can of tomatoes for 1 can of tomatoe soup. May it more 'tomatoey'. I also half the amt of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warwick, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Added crushed red peppers to the flour mix. Great Dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Wonderful flavor!! I followed the recipe except to add a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and I didn't have quite enough carrots. My meat was probably closer to 2 pounds, but browning the meat was key I think. It made an awesome gravy without having to do anything to it...just serve it up over mashed potatoes! We'll be doing this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States