Slow Cooker Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great little recipe. I followed as best I could. No celery so I used celery seed. And I went ahead and added some green and red pepper. I thought they looked beautiful in the mix. I used some cubed round steak that I had previously prepared but it was pretty chewy and wasnt very tasty. I went ahead and froze the leftovers so I could save them and then I used them for this recipe. Night and Day difference. I will keep this in the rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was the best recipe ever made from All Recipes! So delicious! This is off-the-charts yummy. My picky husband and my 6 year old son loved it too. Tip: I added the flour into a ziplock bag and shook up the meat in that instead of dirtying a bowl. Not the greenest solution, but easier. I added cut potatoes. Next time is will make mashed potatoes instead. I can't say enough about this awesome recipe. Soooo good! Update: I continue to LOVE this recipe! I simplified it even more by using stew meat that is already cut up from the supermarket. Serving over mashed potatoes, as recipe calls for (instead of adding cut potatoes in the crock pot) is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was out of celery and onion, so I used Stewed Tomatoes in place of the diced tomatoes. Came out great and a little less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
MMMMMMMMMMMM!!! :) This was such a hearty and delicious winter meal that my husband and I ate up (the kids did NOT, I hate to say...but they're picky so that is not much of a surprise!). I followed the recipe exactly, even sauteing the veggies and browning the meat ahead of time. I did add some garlic powder to the meat. I cooked on low for 8 1/2 hours and the house smelled delicious! I went back for seconds...and then thirds...as did my husband. Served with mashed potatoes and bread and butter...SO GOOD...Will be a winter staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaney*Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was really, really nice. I have to say, I didn't think it was going to work and had second thoughts as I put this in the slow cooker . The ingredients seemed just too weird. But - it's really tasty and I would make again. Goes to show - you never know unless you try :) I did add half a beef stock cube to the mix but that was the only change. Served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
It smelled delicious as it was cooking, and I thought it was going to be heavenly. But it was way too sweet. I ended up tossing the leftovers. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We've never had swiss steak before, so I'm not sure if this is how it typically tastes - but we did not care for it at all. The recipe was simple enough and the meat did come out very tender, but the flavor just didn't seem right. It seemed like an odd combination of ingredients as I was preparing it, but I held out hope that somehow they would all come together for a nice end result. I was too optimistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was so good - really one of those cases where the whole is better than the sum of its parts. The only change I made was to use about 2/3 of a bag of crinkle cut carrot 'chips' instead of the grated carrots. We'll definitely have this again, possibly over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
very good. meat was tender. i seared it on high heat in the flour mixture before adding to crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe as printed. Steak came out fork tender and flavorful. Only change I made was, using PETITE diced tomatoes as I don't care for big chunks of tomato. This is a keeper for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States