Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yum! Que sabroso! I wanted MORE sauce! (I'm not understanding how people thought there was too much sauce.) I used every drop of two 18-oz bottles of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and one can of crushed (not chunk) pineapple with all the juice. I used 2 green peppers instead of one. Garlic and red onion as directed. I used 8 skinless boneless chicken thighs. (My experience is that dark meat chicken is the best to use in a slow cooker. Breasts dry out in a slow cooker.) I cooked it on low for 8 hours and it wasn't overcooked at all. Perhaps that's because I used dark meat instead of breasts. Dark meat cooks more slowly. Served over rice. Kids ages 11, 13 and 13 raved about it. Next time, I will double all the ingredients except the chicken. Like I said, I wanted more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce, cooked it on high for 3 hrs, and served it over rice. My family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I highly recommend this recipe, with a few changes. If you are going to cook it all day, use the big chicken breast (split with bone) instead of the more expensive ones - they take longer to turn into mush. Also I followed the advice of others and used crushed pineapple instead of cubed, and Kroger's frozen 3 pepper and onion mix (it's red, yellow and green bell peppers). I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce too - cooked it in 1 bottle, then added the other bottle at the end. You may need to thicken it a bit with a little corn starch. Even my husband liked this one, he said it was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It was OK, not incredible though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Wow, tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Super easy and awesome! The chicken breasts literally fell apart, they were soooo tender. Yum. This is a new family favorite for 2-year old twins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic!! I made this recipe with (7) boneless, whole chicken breasts. I used Kraft BBQ (1/2 original, 1/4 thick n spicy and 1/4 honey bbq) and a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and it turned out terrific -- very juicy and tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very simple to fix. I did not have 8 to 9 hours to cook it, so I cooked on high for about 3 hours. I did cut the chicken breasts in half. The chicken cooked up so tender you could cut it with a fork. Ti was not bad at first, but then seemed to "grow" with every bite. I think it was just too much sweet and tangy for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Five Stars because the whole family LOVED it. Even the picky eaters had seconds and thirds. Used one bottle of Sweet Baby Rays, 2 cans of pineapple chuncks, (one with the juice, one drained). 6 chicken breasts. Cooked 4 hours on low, then turned to warm for 3 more hours.....perfect. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This turned out delicious! I did have to leave the green bell pepper and onion out, because I was out of them at the time. I only had one bottle of bbq sauce so I added a half bottle of teriyaki 30 minute marinade with the bbq sauce. I will be making this again, but the exact way the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States