Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This turned out SO WELL! Changes: I used about 25 oz bbq sauce, a can of crushed pineapple, extra (frozen) green pepper, and 3 cloves garlic. The chicken was almost completely thawed so I was able to cook it for 3 or 3.5 hours on high and it turned out perfectly. Serve it with some brown rice - it sops up the juice and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was pretty good. My kids however did not like it and my husband said it tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Served over rice. Next time might add chipotle peppers and some mixed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this dish over the weekend. My husband liked it a little, I did not. I used the crushed pineapple as read in reviews, but this was just not for me. This was not sweet or tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My family loved it - easy, easy, easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe to make a simple sweet and sour chicken in a slow cooker. I followed the recipe but cut the BBQ sauce down to one bottle, (I used Sweet Baby Ray's, my absolute fave), crushed pineapple, red onion and celery (no green pepper on hand). Tasted great served over rice; definitely sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckarlson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I also made this with less BBQ sauce and it made plenty. I was afraid the Sweet BBQ sauce would be too sweet so I used HEBs new Texas Specialty series which has pretty good heat in it. One 14 oz bottle with 8 boneless, skinless thighs to reduce calories and fat worked well. Based on reviews, I added some ginger and served this over Jasmine rice. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
The sauce base was great. I did not have chicken available so I cut a small boneless pork sirloin roast into thick "chops". I used the sauce but added fresh pineapple(I did not have canned handy), also added red pepper with the green. I seared the "chops" then put all in the crock pot for 6 hours on low. Came out wonderfully moist and tender. I served with baked rice and garlic french cut green beans. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
loved it! Took the suggestions and used crushed pineapples instead of chunks, chicken thighs and cooked for 6 hrs on low. I alos added a yellow pepper. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This dish was simple to make and so delicious.I only used 2 chicken breast since its just me and my husband so i cooked it in the oven on 250 for 6 hours with reynolds wrap on top and it was very juicy and tender.Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States