Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it was just sort of... eh. Not bad, certainly, but my family didn't just fall in love with it as so many previous reviewers had. Here's what I did, that added up to nothing truly special: 1+ bottles of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce (maybe about 1 1/3?), juice from a large can of crushed pineapple plus a bit of the fruit, lots of garlic and a bit of fresh ginger combined and added to crockpot with chicken straight away; as per the advice of others, I waited to add the remaining fruit and peppers (1/2 red, 1/2 green) until most of the cooking was done. The flavor was ok, but I was disappointed that the chicken was kind of dry. I let it all cook for about 5 hours -- way less than the 8-9 stated in the original recipe, but still a bit longer than other reviewers suggested, because I had about 5 pounds of chicken going, so I thought it would take some time. Oh well! Next time I make this -- and I will try again! -- I will *definitely* reduce the cooking time even more, or else start with frozen chicken breasts. Also, I think I'll try the pineapple CHUNKS, as originally stated, since the crushed just seemed to get lost in the sauce. I will probably add even more peppers and some other veg, to add some more color and different texture. I'm going to hold onto this recipe, because it is OK, but I need to keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
The flavor was decent, but the directions for cooking time were way off. Next time I will see how its doing after half the time. Served it over rice, but I think this could also be pretty good as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicy leah maki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Just finished up cleaning the crockpot from this recipe. My husband gave it 5 stars and wished he could give more. We cooked on low for 6 hours. Added ginger, bag of frozen chopped peppers and onions. Didn't crush the pineapple but did drain. Cut up 1 chipotle pepper. Plenty of sauce! I would suggest 18 oz bottle for 6 chicken breast. Definitely sweet so go ahead and spice it up. It will be great. Definitely a keeper. Will try a bolder BBQ sauce next time. Served over brown rice made it a perfect meal! chicke was so tender and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My family loved this! I had to make some slight adjustments: I cooked this on HIGH for 5 hours, then I shredded the chicken with 2 forks in the cooker, and cooked for another hour on high. I used an orange pepper (don't like the green ones). Next time I might up the garlic a bit, but only because we LOVE garlic! I served over rice last night, but I think this will make EXCELLENT "Hawaiian bbq'd pulled chicken sandwiches" on those yummy sweet Hawaiian rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My dh and I both really liked this. He put it together for us, put it into the crock pot, and I turned the crock pot on - to high, actually, because there was no time to cook it longer than about 4 1/2 hours. It was done beautifully! The chicken was fall-apart tender and we ate it over rice with just a dab of soy sauce, which bumped it up perfectly. The leftovers are being frozen and this dish is one I will recommend to friends. Thanks so much for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My children would not eat it. My husband thought it was OK. The chicken was extremely dry. Which in itself is kind of amazing since it was completely covered in sauce. I had such high hopes for this recipe. Definitely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this last night for the 1st time and it turned out surprisingly well! SO EASY! I took the advice from others, and used a can of crushed pineapple instead of chunked. I also cooked it about 5-1/2 hrs on high, and the chicken was fine. There was plenty of sauce (which I also thickened) so served it w/mashed potatoes, however next time I will try it with white rice or even egg noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
SAVE the sauce!!! We had leftovers and while the chicken was not dry when reheated, having the extra sauce and putting it over rice was a GREAT (and low effort) second meal! Also, your choice of BBQ sauce is key. I used a honey BBQ sauce which was good, but I think you'll want to find something with a relatively milder taste as its easy for "bolder" tasting sauces to overpower the pineapple and dominate the flavor of the chicken. So choose wisely, but this is a recipe SURE to delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
completely overcooked the chicken--7-8 hours on low is TOO LONG...and the taste was just too fake or something. Maybe real pineapple would make it taste more real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This did not go over well in my family. It had an acidy taste. The only thing I left out was the green pepper because I didn't have any, but I don't think that would have made it a whole lot different. I also think it was too much onion. I will have to tweak it and find a taste that we might like but I will not be making this again in it's current form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States