Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this exactly as written and served over rice. Delicious! I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce and crushed pineapple, and cooked on high for three hours. The meat was fall-apart tender. My boyfriend commented that he'd like this better as a sandwich filling, so I think I will add cornstarch some time for a thicker sauce and serve as sandwiches. However, I also think it would be delicious over rice with vegetables such as carrots and peapods added. In that instance I think I would prefer the diced pineapple to crushed, because the pineapple chunks make this more like a sweet and sour dish - which is basically what it is, but with a barbecue flavor. I know I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Hubby and kids loved it. Will be added to the regulars list. Did add flour to the broth to thicken it up. Hubby also suggested maybe adding potatoes for a full meal in the crock pot. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very tasty! Makes way too much sauce. Will cut down on the BBQ sauce next time. Also, 4 hours was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought this was very good as is. I really didn't change anything except cut the recipe in half. Used my little crock pot and cooked on high about 4 hours. Chicken was tender and the veggies weren't crispy - I had wondered if they would be done. I think the only thing I will change next time is use crushed pineapple instead of chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was a little too sweet and tangy for us. I cooked mine on low for 6 hours, with frozen breasts to start. I was thrilled with the chicken - not overdone in the crockpot! But, the onions were too crisp for me, and I think the fact that they didn't melt into the sauce was what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
It was okay, but I'm not sure how often I'll do it again simply because I have better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
IF I make this again, I will reduce the cooking time to about 7 hours instead of 9. My chicken turned out a bit dry. The sauce was very flavorful, but runny. I added some cornstarch to it to thicken it up. I used Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce (about 1 and 1/2 bottles)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was delicious. Even my picky husband who's not a huge fan of chicken breast loved it. I cut everything in half except I still used a whole can of pineapple, and I didn't have a bell pepper. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Original BBQ sauce and served over white rice. Definitly will become a regular recipe in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was exceptionally good. This is a great make and take to picnics or family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I ended up being a rush and cooked on high for about 4-5 hours. It was a little soupy but I added just a bit of flour to thicken it up. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States