Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Totally burned after the recommended 10 hours on low. Not a pleasant thing to come home to after a day of work. I use my crockpot all the time to have dinner waiting after work. This was no longer dinner! Made sandwiches instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! If I could give this more than 5 stars, I certainly would. Followed recipe ingredients as given; simply reduced the amount of chicken by half (4 pieces instead of 8), and used only one bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce, leaving the other ingredient amounts as stated. This is DEFINITELY a keeper. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this exactly as written and served over rice. Delicious! I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce and crushed pineapple, and cooked on high for three hours. The meat was fall-apart tender. My boyfriend commented that he'd like this better as a sandwich filling, so I think I will add cornstarch some time for a thicker sauce and serve as sandwiches. However, I also think it would be delicious over rice with vegetables such as carrots and peapods added. In that instance I think I would prefer the diced pineapple to crushed, because the pineapple chunks make this more like a sweet and sour dish - which is basically what it is, but with a barbecue flavor. I know I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Hubby and kids loved it. Will be added to the regulars list. Did add flour to the broth to thicken it up. Hubby also suggested maybe adding potatoes for a full meal in the crock pot. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very tasty! Makes way too much sauce. Will cut down on the BBQ sauce next time. Also, 4 hours was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought this was very good as is. I really didn't change anything except cut the recipe in half. Used my little crock pot and cooked on high about 4 hours. Chicken was tender and the veggies weren't crispy - I had wondered if they would be done. I think the only thing I will change next time is use crushed pineapple instead of chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was a little too sweet and tangy for us. I cooked mine on low for 6 hours, with frozen breasts to start. I was thrilled with the chicken - not overdone in the crockpot! But, the onions were too crisp for me, and I think the fact that they didn't melt into the sauce was what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
It was okay, but I'm not sure how often I'll do it again simply because I have better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
IF I make this again, I will reduce the cooking time to about 7 hours instead of 9. My chicken turned out a bit dry. The sauce was very flavorful, but runny. I added some cornstarch to it to thicken it up. I used Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce (about 1 and 1/2 bottles)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was delicious. Even my picky husband who's not a huge fan of chicken breast loved it. I cut everything in half except I still used a whole can of pineapple, and I didn't have a bell pepper. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Original BBQ sauce and served over white rice. Definitly will become a regular recipe in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States