Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Mixed reviews on this. One liked and two less than liked. It wasn't bad just wasn't real good. Personally I like spicy food so that was the problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Thought this was good but lacked the tang. I agree with others that the sauce is too thin. I dissolved about 1/2 cup cornstarch in 1/2 cup vinegar and added it at the end, with the crockpot on high. That gave the thickness and tang I was looking for. Also, FYI, I used skinless, bone-in chicken thighs and it was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was an easy to make, and delicious meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good! I used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. I cooked the chicken for 6 hours, as I saw many others had done, and it was perfect! Would have been very dry if I had followed the recipe instructions for 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family liked this recipe. I used watercestnuts and soy sauce, the barbque sauce, I used half Open pit and half Materpiece, When I served it I used Chow Mein noodles on top over White Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
USE LESS BARBEQUE SAUCE, With a a few minor adjustments this was a great recipe. I took a few suggestions from other reviews and this is how I did it. First I only used 4 chicken breasts and one bottle of BBQ Sauce, but next time I think I might only use 1/2 the sauce. I did use a whole can of pineapple and most of the juice. The onion, pepper, and garlic I did according to the recipe. I did add water chestnuts, and would consider adding more veggies next time. My husband really liked it too, but said seasoning the chicken first would have made it better. I also only cooked it for 5 hours or so (cutting up the chicken after 4 hours) and the chicken was cooked perfectly in that time. I served it over rice and will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
It was a good recipe, my chicken got a little dry cooking it that long though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Something didn't turn out right in mine. Not sure what. The flavor was alright though. I will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This dish was very easy to make and quite flavorful. I used: chicken breast cut into chunks; bullseye Honey Mustard BBQ sauce; about 7 cloves of garlic sliced; 1 green pepper and one onion. I seasoned with normal seasonings and set placed all mixed together in the fridge overnight. It cooked for about 6 hours on low and was just at the brink of being a little dry. I will probably cook for about 5 hours next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States