Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My Boyfriend loved this recipie, I thought it was so-so. We did use the Sweet Baby Rays brand Honey BBQ sauce as many reviews sugested, as well as crushed pineapple. I'm on the fence about this dish...maybe I will use less green pepper next time? Can't put my finger on what I'm not digging...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Good recipe. I only did a couple of things slightly different. Total cooking time was only 5 hours. After 4 hours I took the chicken out and shred it and then put it back in for the final 1 hour. We had it over white rice and was just as good warmed up the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This came out lovely. Very yummy. I only cooked it on low for 5 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was pretty good. Definitely can't cook longer then 6-7 hours, it would be too long. We used a Sweet baby rays (honey) bbq and chunk pineapple. Because of the sweet bbq sauce, I added a hot pepper with the other peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes to even it out. Our sauce was a good consistancy, as we used a whole bottle bbq, small can of pineapple for 3 chicken breasts. Served with rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Mixed reviews on this. One liked and two less than liked. It wasn't bad just wasn't real good. Personally I like spicy food so that was the problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Thought this was good but lacked the tang. I agree with others that the sauce is too thin. I dissolved about 1/2 cup cornstarch in 1/2 cup vinegar and added it at the end, with the crockpot on high. That gave the thickness and tang I was looking for. Also, FYI, I used skinless, bone-in chicken thighs and it was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was an easy to make, and delicious meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good! I used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. I cooked the chicken for 6 hours, as I saw many others had done, and it was perfect! Would have been very dry if I had followed the recipe instructions for 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family liked this recipe. I used watercestnuts and soy sauce, the barbque sauce, I used half Open pit and half Materpiece, When I served it I used Chow Mein noodles on top over White Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States