Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I really like this recipe, and my husband likes and frequently asks for it. Here's what stops me from making it all the time- after even 4 hrs.- boneless/skinless chicken breast dries out. Also our crock pot is pretty big, meant for large crowds. Instead I use my dutch oven on the stove to cook it up and all the while I watch the time for about an hour and it works wonderful. A great combination of flavors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
very good but I drained the pineapple and kept the pineapple in the fridge and chopped the peppers and kept them in the fridge until 1 hr. before the chicken was done. Then added it. It just maintains the pineapple and peppers from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. all enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coldbrook, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Was a bit hesitant after the mixed reviews but this turned out well, good for an easy midweek meal. Husband really enjoyed it and has asked for it again. Only used 2 chicken breasts and 1/4 a bottle of bbq sauce. Added the juice from the can of pineapple and for a little kick some dried chilli flakes. Did not need to thicken with cornstarch, just turned the slowcooker to high and left the lid off for the last hour of cooking and that did the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This chicken was very moist. I did use about 4 lbs of thighs and drum sticks since I needed to use them up. I used a 40 oz bottle of bbq sauce and I believe an 18 or 20 oz bottle would have been enough. It made a LOT of sauce. Otherwise, this is very good. I did cook it for 8 hours and some of my chicken was slightly frozen. Will do this again. Thanks Jan from another Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Too sweet. I rinsed the stew after trying my first plate because 2 bottles of BBQ sauce was way too much. I added one red and one green pepper and one onion. Next time (if there is a next time), I'd add more garlic as well. One bottle of sauce may be enough but the combo of all of the sauce and the sweetness of the pineapple was not good. After eating leftovers for two different meals, I trashed the rest. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I think it is a great easy recipe. I did not make any changes and it turned out great. I chopped the bell peppers and onions in large chunks so my son could easily pick them out. I served it over rice and it's great because there is alot of sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very simple. I used 4 good sized chicken breasts, which i used just salt. I found they were moist/tender and cooked in about 2 1/2 hrs(on Low). I removed them and thicken the sauce with corn starch and continued to cook it on high for abot 10 minutes more. I turned off my slow cooker and put the chicken back in to absorb more flavor. I think this would work good in a sandwich. My husband liked alot, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
WOW! I used a left-over gallon size zip lock bag of Thanksgiving turkey from the freezer instead of chicken, pineapple chunks (next time I'll use crushed), half a medium onion, and one bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce. No garlic or peppers on hand. This recipe would work well with pork (for pulled pork sandwiches) or beef. Sounds weird, but you have to try it. It's stupid easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good stuff, even our picky teenagers enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States