Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I also made this with less BBQ sauce and it made plenty. I was afraid the Sweet BBQ sauce would be too sweet so I used HEBs new Texas Specialty series which has pretty good heat in it. One 14 oz bottle with 8 boneless, skinless thighs to reduce calories and fat worked well. Based on reviews, I added some ginger and served this over Jasmine rice. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
The sauce base was great. I did not have chicken available so I cut a small boneless pork sirloin roast into thick "chops". I used the sauce but added fresh pineapple(I did not have canned handy), also added red pepper with the green. I seared the "chops" then put all in the crock pot for 6 hours on low. Came out wonderfully moist and tender. I served with baked rice and garlic french cut green beans. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
loved it! Took the suggestions and used crushed pineapples instead of chunks, chicken thighs and cooked for 6 hrs on low. I alos added a yellow pepper. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This dish was simple to make and so delicious.I only used 2 chicken breast since its just me and my husband so i cooked it in the oven on 250 for 6 hours with reynolds wrap on top and it was very juicy and tender.Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I served this for Sunday dinner to my husband and step-daughter. She asked me if I could rate the recipe, and I asked how many stars. Definitely 5 she said. It's a keeper! My husband wanted to give it 10 stars! I'll be making this again for sure! I made it as written, but I did reduce the time to 6 hours on low. I was wondering if the chicken was frozen for the 8 - 9 hours as recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I ever made! Here's a few pointers..definitely do not need 2 bottles of bbq sauce that would way too much sauce, I used honey bbq sauce which I think gives a great added flavor then regular bbq sauce and I spiced it up with red peppers too it doesn't need to be cooked for 8 to 9 hours you can cook it on high for 4 to 5 hours. Rice or Couscous made plain went really well with this because you have all the juice and flavors from the chicken that you don't need to add anything to the rice etc. I will definitely be making this for a long time! I got rave reviews and it goes great with Zinfandel as recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Bustos
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this last night for dinner and it was great. I cooked it on high for 4 hours instead of low for 8 due to not having enough time and it still came out awesome. Everyone in my family that tried it, loved it. The chicken is so tender it just comes apart with a fork. We will definitely be making this again, and it's so easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Maybe I cooked for too long or used a different BBQ sauce, but the picture looked WAY better than mine... It was edible, but I was hoping for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was in my inbox today so I decided to give it a shot ... with my few changes based on all the other reviews. I used 4 frozen boneless chicken breasts that I seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and Accent. I mixed a bottle of Kraft Honey Roasted Garlic BBQ sauce, one onion quartered, 3 slices of fresh ginger julienned, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, a pinch of red pepper flakes a tsp of dijon and half the juice of a can of pineapple. I dipped the chicken in this sauce before I poppped into the crock, then poured the remaining sauce over it. I started it on high for about half an hour then reduced to low. I cooked it for about 5 hours total. In the last 30-45 min I added about half the can of pineapple, and nice sized chunks of half each red, green and yellow peppers. I mixed the remaining half can of pineapple juice with 1/2 tbls of cornstarch and added that when I added the vegetables. I served it over rice. My husband and 21 yr old son rated it "have again". My 28 yr old son thought it was ok: didn't love it, didn't hate it ... but had seconds. It had a nice layersof flavorl with a final note of heat. The sauce could have been a tad bit thicker but I was overly cautious with only half can of juice. I was thinking this would be great with orange juice concentrate rather than pineapple juice, (omitting the fruit then too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My husband dislikes chicken (go figure?) so I made this with boneless pork chops - and served it over basmati rice. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States