Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Served over rice. Next time might add chipotle peppers and some mixed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this dish over the weekend. My husband liked it a little, I did not. I used the crushed pineapple as read in reviews, but this was just not for me. This was not sweet or tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My family loved it - easy, easy, easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe to make a simple sweet and sour chicken in a slow cooker. I followed the recipe but cut the BBQ sauce down to one bottle, (I used Sweet Baby Ray's, my absolute fave), crushed pineapple, red onion and celery (no green pepper on hand). Tasted great served over rice; definitely sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckarlson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I also made this with less BBQ sauce and it made plenty. I was afraid the Sweet BBQ sauce would be too sweet so I used HEBs new Texas Specialty series which has pretty good heat in it. One 14 oz bottle with 8 boneless, skinless thighs to reduce calories and fat worked well. Based on reviews, I added some ginger and served this over Jasmine rice. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
The sauce base was great. I did not have chicken available so I cut a small boneless pork sirloin roast into thick "chops". I used the sauce but added fresh pineapple(I did not have canned handy), also added red pepper with the green. I seared the "chops" then put all in the crock pot for 6 hours on low. Came out wonderfully moist and tender. I served with baked rice and garlic french cut green beans. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
loved it! Took the suggestions and used crushed pineapples instead of chunks, chicken thighs and cooked for 6 hrs on low. I alos added a yellow pepper. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This dish was simple to make and so delicious.I only used 2 chicken breast since its just me and my husband so i cooked it in the oven on 250 for 6 hours with reynolds wrap on top and it was very juicy and tender.Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I served this for Sunday dinner to my husband and step-daughter. She asked me if I could rate the recipe, and I asked how many stars. Definitely 5 she said. It's a keeper! My husband wanted to give it 10 stars! I'll be making this again for sure! I made it as written, but I did reduce the time to 6 hours on low. I was wondering if the chicken was frozen for the 8 - 9 hours as recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I ever made! Here's a few pointers..definitely do not need 2 bottles of bbq sauce that would way too much sauce, I used honey bbq sauce which I think gives a great added flavor then regular bbq sauce and I spiced it up with red peppers too it doesn't need to be cooked for 8 to 9 hours you can cook it on high for 4 to 5 hours. Rice or Couscous made plain went really well with this because you have all the juice and flavors from the chicken that you don't need to add anything to the rice etc. I will definitely be making this for a long time! I got rave reviews and it goes great with Zinfandel as recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States