Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was an excellent recipe and my family loved it. I used the thighs as well boneless and skinless. I also added the sweet and sour sechwan spicy to mine when I plated it because it would be too hot for my husband. Will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very tasty. I only needed 4 hours cooking time on the low setting for my slow cooker. I added the green pepper and onion after 2 hours so they wouldn't be so mushy. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this dish to dinner guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very very good recipe, cooked it on low for 6 hours, and served it over brown rice. Will try this again with pork chops. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good. about 5hrs on low to great taste. I added some cubed potatos in the last 90min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Not wild about this. Probably won't make it again. Easy and quick to put together-love to use the crockpot. The chicken was very tender and had pretty good flavor, the pineapple was saturated with all the flavors(didn't taste like pineapple). Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it was just sort of... eh. Not bad, certainly, but my family didn't just fall in love with it as so many previous reviewers had. Here's what I did, that added up to nothing truly special: 1+ bottles of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce (maybe about 1 1/3?), juice from a large can of crushed pineapple plus a bit of the fruit, lots of garlic and a bit of fresh ginger combined and added to crockpot with chicken straight away; as per the advice of others, I waited to add the remaining fruit and peppers (1/2 red, 1/2 green) until most of the cooking was done. The flavor was ok, but I was disappointed that the chicken was kind of dry. I let it all cook for about 5 hours -- way less than the 8-9 stated in the original recipe, but still a bit longer than other reviewers suggested, because I had about 5 pounds of chicken going, so I thought it would take some time. Oh well! Next time I make this -- and I will try again! -- I will *definitely* reduce the cooking time even more, or else start with frozen chicken breasts. Also, I think I'll try the pineapple CHUNKS, as originally stated, since the crushed just seemed to get lost in the sauce. I will probably add even more peppers and some other veg, to add some more color and different texture. I'm going to hold onto this recipe, because it is OK, but I need to keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
The flavor was decent, but the directions for cooking time were way off. Next time I will see how its doing after half the time. Served it over rice, but I think this could also be pretty good as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicy leah maki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Just finished up cleaning the crockpot from this recipe. My husband gave it 5 stars and wished he could give more. We cooked on low for 6 hours. Added ginger, bag of frozen chopped peppers and onions. Didn't crush the pineapple but did drain. Cut up 1 chipotle pepper. Plenty of sauce! I would suggest 18 oz bottle for 6 chicken breast. Definitely sweet so go ahead and spice it up. It will be great. Definitely a keeper. Will try a bolder BBQ sauce next time. Served over brown rice made it a perfect meal! chicke was so tender and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My family loved this! I had to make some slight adjustments: I cooked this on HIGH for 5 hours, then I shredded the chicken with 2 forks in the cooker, and cooked for another hour on high. I used an orange pepper (don't like the green ones). Next time I might up the garlic a bit, but only because we LOVE garlic! I served over rice last night, but I think this will make EXCELLENT "Hawaiian bbq'd pulled chicken sandwiches" on those yummy sweet Hawaiian rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My dh and I both really liked this. He put it together for us, put it into the crock pot, and I turned the crock pot on - to high, actually, because there was no time to cook it longer than about 4 1/2 hours. It was done beautifully! The chicken was fall-apart tender and we ate it over rice with just a dab of soy sauce, which bumped it up perfectly. The leftovers are being frozen and this dish is one I will recommend to friends. Thanks so much for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States