Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
i've made this recipe twice so far with different results. The first time I made it I had to wing it with a few of the ingredients (I was short on brown sugar), and I also used raw kielbasa instead of pre-cooked (smoked??) like hillshire farms or the like. When I made it the first time, it was good but didn't make me rave over it. I decided to give it another go for my superbowl party and this time I made sure I had all of the ingredients on hand (I also tripled the recipe to accomodate the amount of guests I had). I used hillshire farms kielbasa this time and WOW what a difference it was! This is a fantastic recipe and I will most definitely be using it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wow, this stuff is fantastic (and I'm not normally much of a Kielbasa fan). I used 14 oz of ketchup and doubled the amount of Kielbasa as suggested by others - I had plenty of sauce and enough yummy Kielbasa to feed an army! I knew I'd be rushed for time on the day that I wanted to make this, so I browned the onion, made the sauce, and sliced the kielbasa the night before, placed it all in a gallon size zipper bag and stored it in the fridge overnight. In the morning I just dumped everything in the crock pot and turned it on low for 5 hours. I suppose I could have used a crock pot cooking bag instead of a zipper bag, but I didn't have any on hand. Anyway, I used regular kielbasa and I have to mention that there was about an inch of rendered fat on top of the sauce when the kielbasa finished cooking, but it was easily removed. The sauce is so tasty that I plan to serve the leftovers over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I was confused at first. Is it 1/2 of a 28 oz. bottle of ketchup or is it 1/2 of a larger bottle (in other words 28 oz.) of ketchup. I figured 28 oz. would be way to much ketchup. 14 oz. was just right as far as flavor goes and I'm sure this must be what the recipe meant. It was pretty good although, I still had way to much sauce and probably could have added another sausage or cut the sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I took this to an office party and out of all the dishes brought, this is the only one that there were no left overs!!! The only thing different I did was add bell peppers in with the onions and pineapple tidbits. Will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This was so good! I tripled it and took it to a potluck luncheon. It was completely gone! Two people asked me for the recipe, too. I did halve the ketchup, because the first time I made it, it seemed that was all you could taste. And it smelled Great! while it was cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Great alternative for serving Kielbasa or summer sausage! I added sliced bell pepper to the onions...it was delicious served over basmati rice. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I added strips of green and red bell Peppers and some sliced Jalapeño peppers with some chunk caned pineapple served over some simple rice mixed with peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RESCUERANGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Did a trial run last night to see if I liked this enough to make it for a superbowl party...and the answer is no. I followed the advice of others and only used 8 oz ketchup and 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. Girl likes her ketchup, but this was way too ketchupy, sweet and vinegary, all at the same time. Not a good mix of flavors, IMHO. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good. Both my kids ate it, and my husband really liked it, so I'll make it again. I did it in a skillet on the stovetop- browning the sausage and onions, then stirring in the sauce ingredients (which I halved)and simmering for about 10 minutes. I only used 8 oz of ketchup and thought it was plenty. Any more than that and I think the ketchup taste would've been overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Everyone loved this! It drove my boss crazy because it smelled so good and I was cooking it at work for an early evening pot-luck meeting and when she finally got to taste it - her reaction was great. My husband also deemed the recipe a "keeper" and not one piece was left at the dinner. The only modification I made was to use half ketchup and half bbq sauce (I ran out of ketchup!). It does make a lot of sauce. Since we were using a homemade kielbasa, I'm not sure how much we used but I'd guess it was at least double what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States