Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great! The only modifications I made were to sub olive oil for butter and to do it completely on the stove top. I didn't simmer for hours and hours, only about 20 minutes and it came out fantastic! I served it over boiled/stewed potatoes (little more Polish than rice...hubby's Polish :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhyclak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this for a party that I went to. I am always hesitant to bring something I have never made before, but this was a hit.I did read the reviews and the only thing I did change was by using less ketchup and adding pineappple tidbits. It was one of the last dishes brought in and one of the first ones to be emptied. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Tasty.....I used almost 2lbs. of turkey kielbasa cut into coins, and cut the brown sugar in half. I did sautee my onion in a little evoo first and simmered on low in the crockpot for about 3 hours. Hubby liked it, but couldn't eat too much. I think this would be better as an appetizer rather than a meal. Will make again as an appetizer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
my mom has been making this with her own recipe since i was little, i couldnt get a hold of her so i used this one! it was awsome, my husband loved it he couldnt get enough! i used turkey kielbasa instead of regular. also we always had pineapples and cherries in ours so i added 1/2 a 10oz jar marachino cherries and a 8oz can chunck pineapple. and a few tablespoons of each of their juices. i also put green bell pepper in it. very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Everytime I make this there is always a ton of sauce left over. I started doubling the kielbasa and now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGracie143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good. Both my kids ate it, and my husband really liked it, so I'll make it again. I did it in a skillet on the stovetop- browning the sausage and onions, then stirring in the sauce ingredients (which I halved)and simmering for about 10 minutes. I only used 8 oz of ketchup and thought it was plenty. Any more than that and I think the ketchup taste would've been overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
My husband had several "samples" before I even put dinner on the table! Very easy, great flavor and easy to tweak ingredients if you are missing something. I served with brown rice and garden veggies. Thanks:) Would be awesome appetizer for football season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Good recipe. The final product was tasty, although for my personal tastes some minor adjustments are needed. However, all in all, a good recipe that allows you to do something different with kielbasa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I didn't care for this. The ketchup is completely overpowering, even when reduced to 1/4 of what's called for. You might as well heat up the kielbasa, onions, and pepper and just squirt ketchup on it. That's what this tastes like. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a great dish for a pot luck supper. I changed it a slight bit by adding 2 lbs of sauerkraut and a can of crushed pineapple drained. I also threw in another pound of kielbasa. It got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMARGIES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Wells, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States