Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I added strips of green and red bell Peppers and some sliced Jalapeño peppers with some chunk caned pineapple served over some simple rice mixed with peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RESCUERANGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wow, this stuff is fantastic (and I'm not normally much of a Kielbasa fan). I used 14 oz of ketchup and doubled the amount of Kielbasa as suggested by others - I had plenty of sauce and enough yummy Kielbasa to feed an army! I knew I'd be rushed for time on the day that I wanted to make this, so I browned the onion, made the sauce, and sliced the kielbasa the night before, placed it all in a gallon size zipper bag and stored it in the fridge overnight. In the morning I just dumped everything in the crock pot and turned it on low for 5 hours. I suppose I could have used a crock pot cooking bag instead of a zipper bag, but I didn't have any on hand. Anyway, I used regular kielbasa and I have to mention that there was about an inch of rendered fat on top of the sauce when the kielbasa finished cooking, but it was easily removed. The sauce is so tasty that I plan to serve the leftovers over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
we did this recipe and used the servings for six ,but added another half on all ingredients makes plenty of sauce my wife suggested we use it as a sauce for our chicken legs after all the kielbasa was gone it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This did not go over very well with my very picky family. I was a little disappointed because it sounded much better than it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent. I also use this recipe to make meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Recipes like this is what I call easy and tasty, my husband loved it! I did use beef sausage and turkey kielbasa, as substitutes. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had to modify this for a quick stove top meal, but the kids loved it! I did halve the ketchup as suggested and I also halved the sauce recipe as a whole. I boiled the kielbasa first in water on the stove top. Then I mixed the sauce together (I was out of cider vinegar so I used regular vinegar) and I also used regular mustard to tone it down for the kids in my daycare. I left out the onion and didn't use any hot sauce..which made this sauce a lot like a ham ball sauce. I cut the kielbasa into coins then halved the coins and simmered the sausage and the ketchup concoction on the stove for about 30 min., the last 10 min. I covered the sauce so that it wouldn't get too stiff to pour over noodles. The kids really liked it! I served it over wheat noodles. will make again sometime..it was quick and easy. Would probably be even better in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Did a trial run last night to see if I liked this enough to make it for a superbowl party...and the answer is no. I followed the advice of others and only used 8 oz ketchup and 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. Girl likes her ketchup, but this was way too ketchupy, sweet and vinegary, all at the same time. Not a good mix of flavors, IMHO. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I ENDED UP USING LITTLE SMOKIES BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE KIELBASA ON HAND. THE SAUCE WAS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED AND SEEMED TOO "VINEGARY". I MAY HAVE DONE SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY BATCH SINCE ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS ARE MORE POSITIVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States