Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This did not go over very well with my very picky family. I was a little disappointed because it sounded much better than it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent. I also use this recipe to make meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Recipes like this is what I call easy and tasty, my husband loved it! I did use beef sausage and turkey kielbasa, as substitutes. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had to modify this for a quick stove top meal, but the kids loved it! I did halve the ketchup as suggested and I also halved the sauce recipe as a whole. I boiled the kielbasa first in water on the stove top. Then I mixed the sauce together (I was out of cider vinegar so I used regular vinegar) and I also used regular mustard to tone it down for the kids in my daycare. I left out the onion and didn't use any hot sauce..which made this sauce a lot like a ham ball sauce. I cut the kielbasa into coins then halved the coins and simmered the sausage and the ketchup concoction on the stove for about 30 min., the last 10 min. I covered the sauce so that it wouldn't get too stiff to pour over noodles. The kids really liked it! I served it over wheat noodles. will make again sometime..it was quick and easy. Would probably be even better in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Did a trial run last night to see if I liked this enough to make it for a superbowl party...and the answer is no. I followed the advice of others and only used 8 oz ketchup and 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. Girl likes her ketchup, but this was way too ketchupy, sweet and vinegary, all at the same time. Not a good mix of flavors, IMHO. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I ENDED UP USING LITTLE SMOKIES BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE KIELBASA ON HAND. THE SAUCE WAS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED AND SEEMED TOO "VINEGARY". I MAY HAVE DONE SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY BATCH SINCE ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS ARE MORE POSITIVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this for a work potluck and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this for a pot luck last night. The Kielbasa didn't last long enough! Rave reviews from everyone...the sausage melted in your mouth! Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I had a MNO and made this recipe - kind of. I used about a loop and a half of polska kielbasa and barbeque sauce. I sauteed onions and a bell pepper beforehand. I combined the kielbasa, onion, bell pepper, and a can of pineapple chunks in the crock pot. I also added about half of the pineapple juice. This actually turned out quite good, but it did have a bit of a bite (spice) that I did not expect. I also think you CAN cook it too long. I cooked mine on low for about 8 hours because I was cooking rice for the same amount of time and the sausage turned out too soft for my taste. Overall everyone enjoyed it that is why I will give it 4 stars, but next time I will definetely cook it less time - maybe 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States