Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had to modify this for a quick stove top meal, but the kids loved it! I did halve the ketchup as suggested and I also halved the sauce recipe as a whole. I boiled the kielbasa first in water on the stove top. Then I mixed the sauce together (I was out of cider vinegar so I used regular vinegar) and I also used regular mustard to tone it down for the kids in my daycare. I left out the onion and didn't use any hot sauce..which made this sauce a lot like a ham ball sauce. I cut the kielbasa into coins then halved the coins and simmered the sausage and the ketchup concoction on the stove for about 30 min., the last 10 min. I covered the sauce so that it wouldn't get too stiff to pour over noodles. The kids really liked it! I served it over wheat noodles. will make again sometime..it was quick and easy. Would probably be even better in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Did a trial run last night to see if I liked this enough to make it for a superbowl party...and the answer is no. I followed the advice of others and only used 8 oz ketchup and 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. Girl likes her ketchup, but this was way too ketchupy, sweet and vinegary, all at the same time. Not a good mix of flavors, IMHO. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I ENDED UP USING LITTLE SMOKIES BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE KIELBASA ON HAND. THE SAUCE WAS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED AND SEEMED TOO "VINEGARY". I MAY HAVE DONE SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY BATCH SINCE ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS ARE MORE POSITIVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this for a work potluck and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this for a pot luck last night. The Kielbasa didn't last long enough! Rave reviews from everyone...the sausage melted in your mouth! Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I had a MNO and made this recipe - kind of. I used about a loop and a half of polska kielbasa and barbeque sauce. I sauteed onions and a bell pepper beforehand. I combined the kielbasa, onion, bell pepper, and a can of pineapple chunks in the crock pot. I also added about half of the pineapple juice. This actually turned out quite good, but it did have a bit of a bite (spice) that I did not expect. I also think you CAN cook it too long. I cooked mine on low for about 8 hours because I was cooking rice for the same amount of time and the sausage turned out too soft for my taste. Overall everyone enjoyed it that is why I will give it 4 stars, but next time I will definetely cook it less time - maybe 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This tasted better than I thought it would. The sausage has a richer taste than I'd expected - maybe from the long simmering. But it wasn't a fantastic must-have and my kids wouldn't eat it (they're only 4 and 2 so there's not much they WILL eat) so I give it 4 stars instead of 5. Per some other reviewer's suggestions, here are the changes I made: I subbed olive oil for the butter, subbed a chicken/apple sausage for the kielbasa, cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup, used just 8 oz ketchup, added a chopped bell pepper and a can of pineapple tidbits, and served over brown rice. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
My husband made this for dinner and it was so great! He made it with Turkey Keilbasa and it did not dry out, although it only cooked in the crock pot for 1.5-2 hrs on high. The second time I made it, it was for work. I didn't realize that the onions were suppose to be cooked before putting in the crock pot. I had no choice but to cook everything for 4 hrs, and by then the turkey keilbasa was a little on the dry side. I didn't think it was even half as good as when my honey made it. The people at work didn't seem to mind though. It was gone within the hour and it was a double batch. By the way...it smells so great when its cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe. I took it to a potluck at work last week and it went over very well. I took some other people's advice and added some sauerkraut and pineapple. If I made this at home, I'd definitely serve it over plain rice - it's very rich and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great! The only modifications I made were to sub olive oil for butter and to do it completely on the stove top. I didn't simmer for hours and hours, only about 20 minutes and it came out fantastic! I served it over boiled/stewed potatoes (little more Polish than rice...hubby's Polish :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhyclak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States