Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a great recipe, the only changes I made was 1/2 the ketchup and 1/2 the brown sugar, doubled the hot sauce, added 3 cloves of garlic, and some green bell pepper. This is wonderful for dinner over pasta with a salad, or just sit it out on game day! Thanks for a great new way to make kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wow - super simple and super yummy! Of course after reading all the previous reviews I made a few adjustments to the recipe: 2lb meat, 10oz ketchup (or 1 heaping cup), 1 large onion - sliced, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce, 2 tablespoons mustard, 6 tablespoons butter and chopped garlic. I first cooked the meat with butter and garlic in slow-cooker on low for 30 minutes. Then added in onions along with ketchup, etc for 2 hrs, then for the last hour threw in sauerkraut (drained). Total duration 3.5 hrs and all in one pot. And everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I did as other reviewers recommended and cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. The only other thing I 'changed' was to not add the hot sauce. The kielbasa was so tender. I served it over rotelle and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe wasn't ketchupy at all. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband loved it...ate all of it so I couldn't eat it for leftovers today...almost cried. This will be going down in my recipe box and will become part of our "dinner rotation" for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the directions on this perfectly and it BURNED in my slow cooker on low heat for four hours! When I remade it in the pan it came out fine, although a bit too sweet for my tastes. I wouldn't advise putting this in the crock pot unless you'll be there all day to watch it. I may make again but less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Ok so, I'm kind of on the fence with this one. I expected jubilation and fireworks from the family based on the high ratings of this recipe but what I got was, "umm, Ok, guess so.." Don't get me wrong, the flavor is very, very good. But this seems to be more of a 'man food'. Perfect for Super Bowl and the like. If you have kids that aren't very keen on tangy and sour sauces then this may not be a sure bet. Worth a try if you're desperate to find something new to do with kielbasa. (I was!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariKake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Awesome!!!! I use 2 lbs. of Kielbasa and there was plenty of sauce. Everyone asked for the recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Loved it! Stayed true to the recipe....but served it over rice as a meal instead of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
It was okay after I changed it around a lot. For instance, I used about half the amount of ketchup called for and about half of the vinegar. I also gave it a couple of dashes of BBQ sauce. Otherwise it would have been completely inedible...just a ton of ketchup over some sausage. After I altered it a lot, my kids thought it was okay, and my husband loved it. It's okay to base off of, but it needs a LOT of adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was so good! I will definitely make it again. Normally I don't eat Kielbasa, but the sauce was so good, my husband has asked me to do other meats like chicken or meatballs using this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States