Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe...very easy to put together. Only changes I made were due to what I had on hand: 28oz tomato sauce instead of ketchup soy sauce instead of worcestershire regular white vinegar instead of cider It's a great starter recipe..that like my changes above...you can modify to your liking or what you have on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
AWESOME, I made this sweet and sour kielbasa the same way the recipe called for and it was delish. The sweet and sour sour sauce was the best I ever ate. There was so much sauce I cooked up rice and poured the sauce over it. This recipe can be used for sweet and sour chicken over rice by adding pineapple, peppers and carrots to it. Thank you for sharring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great for a slow cooker recipe. I usually try to make it the way the recipe states but some of the ratios just seemed to far off. I used no butter but a little olive oil to saute onions and peppers and brought sauce to a boil in the skillet. I kinda think this whole step (saute in the skillet) is unnecessary in a slow cooker and will try it by just dumping it all in next time. Although I do enjoy sausage when its been browned up. Here's what I changed no butter(without all that butter it'll be much fewer calories and much healthier), just about a tablespoon of olive oil, half a cup of sugar, 14oz of ketchup, an added green and yellow peppers and a can of pineapple and used half of the juice. Very much happy man or kid food. Its not gourmet but it is very tasty comfort food. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Sausage was fantastic. I loved the flavor. My 7 year old thought it was just a smidge too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T, but since i'm not too fond of kielbasa, i used italian sausage..FANTASTIC!!!thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I also add meatballs to this recipe. Its a hit wherever I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This burned in the crockpot the first time I guess because it wasn't full enough (I have a 6 qt). The second time I just did it on the stovetop and it was great! I used 2 lb. Turkey Kielbasa instead of 1 and brown sugar/Splenda blend. It was a little hot w/ 2 tsp hot sauce so I will cut back next time. My kids don't like rice very well but did not mind eating it with this on top! Quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this for a potluck and had many positive remarks about this. "Phenomanel!" Many asked for the recipe. I added sliced peppers, pineapple chunks, and 1/3 of the juice from the pineapple. Many asked for the recipe. I also did not have the worcestershire sauce and did not use it, so even without that, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I used packaged jalepano sausage links, and this was awesome.. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Way too sweet. It did taste good and I'm sure as an appetizer, having 1 or 2 pieces, it would be wonderful but to eat it as others have suggested (which is how we had it) on rice we all thought it was way too sweet. I had read the reviews saying it was too sweet and others saying it was perfect so instead of the whole cup I used 3/4c brown sugar. I will make this again but with 1/4c brown sugar to be eaten as a meal and maybe 1/2c as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States