Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I thought it was so so. Reviewers used this recipe for I a main dish so I tried it that way too serving the sausage over buttered noodles. I wouildn't serve it that way again. This recipe tasted similar to one for mini weenies as an appetizer that I like better. Far too tart for main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I had my doubts but this stuff is GOOD. Myself and my boyfriend boh devoured it. I used white onions for a milder onion flavor. Also I did not have cider vinegar so I used 2 T. white vinegar and 1 T. malt vinegar. I cooked in a dutch oven for a quick meal. However, this recipe made about 2x more sauce than what is needed. Next time I will probably double the meat or more. The sauce was very good, hated to throw tht much away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Terrific dish! "the best" is exactly what it is. thank you from Mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I was really surprised that everyone in my family loved this....sometimes I'll make things that look good to me but everyone complains - I followed the review in which the reader added applesauce and apple cider....I also added chopped onions....definitely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyesfromphilly
Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband had one bit and proclaimed, "Wow." This is definitely a repeat, and it was so simple - something new to do with all the sausage we get sucked into buying at Costco. I following the ingredients exactly (estimating measurements), but I cooked it low and slow in the oven with foil on top instead of using the slow cooker. I took the foil off the last 15ish minutes before serving. Great potluck item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe...very easy to put together. Only changes I made were due to what I had on hand: 28oz tomato sauce instead of ketchup soy sauce instead of worcestershire regular white vinegar instead of cider It's a great starter recipe..that like my changes above...you can modify to your liking or what you have on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
AWESOME, I made this sweet and sour kielbasa the same way the recipe called for and it was delish. The sweet and sour sour sauce was the best I ever ate. There was so much sauce I cooked up rice and poured the sauce over it. This recipe can be used for sweet and sour chicken over rice by adding pineapple, peppers and carrots to it. Thank you for sharring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great for a slow cooker recipe. I usually try to make it the way the recipe states but some of the ratios just seemed to far off. I used no butter but a little olive oil to saute onions and peppers and brought sauce to a boil in the skillet. I kinda think this whole step (saute in the skillet) is unnecessary in a slow cooker and will try it by just dumping it all in next time. Although I do enjoy sausage when its been browned up. Here's what I changed no butter(without all that butter it'll be much fewer calories and much healthier), just about a tablespoon of olive oil, half a cup of sugar, 14oz of ketchup, an added green and yellow peppers and a can of pineapple and used half of the juice. Very much happy man or kid food. Its not gourmet but it is very tasty comfort food. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Sausage was fantastic. I loved the flavor. My 7 year old thought it was just a smidge too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T, but since i'm not too fond of kielbasa, i used italian sausage..FANTASTIC!!!thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States